Frank Ocean, Justin Bieber, Seinfield, Obama Election Campaign Win Awards At ‘Webbies’

The 17th Annual 2013 Webby Awards have rolled around, and that means it’s time for otherwise entirely unconnected names to form an orderly sentence again. Cue President Barack Obama, Justin Bieber, Jerry Seinfield, and more.

The “Webbies,” as they’re generally known, are an annual awards back-slap for outstanding Internet excellence through multi-web outlets including websites, social media and mobile. The awards cover literally everything you can think of and, probably some you haven’t.

Here’s a few of the notable winners.

Obama’s 2012 presidential election campaign’s use of social media claimed the “Webby Breakout Of The Year” award in the Special Achievement category.

The campaign’s strategy was highlighted for having “masterfully combined savvy political and tech genius to become the secret weapon behind Obama’s commanding re-election.”

Grammy Award winner Frank Ocean took the top award for “Webby Person of the Year.”

To many, the “Sweet Life” singer, who declared his sexuality on Tumblr last July, used the Internet in a brave and inspirational way.

Seinfeld triumphed with a comedic performance Webby for his performance on the web series Comedians Getting Coffee.

Hot on the heels of his Radio Disney Music Award, teen superstar Bieber won the People’s Voice Award in the Social Media Campaigns category for the very successful launch of his “Girlfriend” fragrance.

Fellow Canadian artist, and social provacateur, Grimes, waltzed off with “Webby Person of the Year,” while Lady Gaga won the Celebrity/Fan Social Presence Webby Award for her social media integration partnership with Barney’s.

Kevin Spacey and Dana Brunetti were awarded the Webby Special Achievement category in recognition of their decision to launch the series House of Cards on Netfix. Spacey and Brunetti are the series producers.

Sometimes controversial website The Onion and comedy website Funny or Die also scored awards.

For the second year running, The Daily Beast was named the Webby Winner in the web category for news, while Forbes Media took the top prize in the web category for magazines.

The 17th Annual Webby Awards will be hosted by Patton Oswalt and are set to take place May 22 at 9 am. ET. The event will be available on-demand to watch at

For a complete list of winners, visit the Webby Awards’ website.

[Image via Helga Esteb /]

Share this article: Frank Ocean, Justin Bieber, Seinfield, Obama Election Campaign Win Awards At ‘Webbies’
More from Inquisitr