Qatar Now Visa-Free For 80 Countries Amid Two-Month Boycott

Alexa Bacay - Author

Aug. 10 2017, Updated 7:43 p.m. ET

Qatar announced on Wednesday that it would allow visa-free entry for citizens of 80 countries. This is the country’s bid to encourage air transport and tourism amid the ban imposed upon them by its neighbors in the Gulf.

According to Reuters, citizens from dozens of countries in Europe will now receive tourist visas on arrival. Other countries, including India, Lebanon, New Zealand, South Africa, and the United States, will also enjoy this benefit once they land in the oil-rich country.

Article continues below advertisement

Chief Tourism Development Officer at Qatar Tourism Authority Hassan al-Ibrahim told reporters in Doha that the visa exemption plan will make Qatar the most open country in the region. According to the Washington Post, the Qatari leadership is using the crisis to its advantage, showing a clear sign that Saudi Arabia’s influence over the six-country GCC is waning.

Aside from the visa-free entry imposed on 80 countries, Qatar is also changing its residency laws. Last week, the country approved a landmark legislation of granting permanent residency to some of the foreigners dominating its population. Bloomberg reports that this elevated status would be the first in the Gulf region, which has always been guarded and protective of its public services and property rights. Under this new law, permanent residents will be treated like Qatari nationals and would benefit from the state’s generous welfare system, including education and healthcare services.


Latest Saudi Arabia News and Updates

    © Copyright 2023 The Inquisitr. The Inquisitr is a registered trademark. All Rights Reserved. People may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website. Offers may be subject to change without notice.