Watch Indian Premier League Cricket 2017 Live Stream: Mumbai Indians Vs. Rising Pune Supergiants

The world's most popular T20 franchise pro cricket tournament, the Indian Premier League, returns for a 10th season on Wednesday, as Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore open the competition in a live stream of a high-powered rematch of last season's championship title match — but with a few significant differences from a year ago.

UPDATE: After a Sunrisers vctory in the opening match, Match Two pits Mumbai Indians vs. Rising Pune Supergiants. See below this page for live stream information.

For RCB, perhaps the most significant difference comes in the captaincy, with Virat Kohli still nursing a shoulder injury suffered in India's third Test against Australia in March. For the opening match, and until Kohli is fit to make his 2017 IPL debut, Australia's Shane Watson will take over the skipper's spot for last season's runner-up.

But Bangalore will also start the 10th IPL without South Africa legend A.B. de Villiers. And while Kohli and de Villiers are expected to return after a few matches, India star KL Rahul has been ruled out for the entire season.

See the streaming information below to find out how to watch a live stream of Sunrisers Hyderabad vs. Royal Challengers Bangalore. First ball is scheduled for 8 p.m. India Standard Time at the Sunrisers home ground of Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Uppal, India, on Wednesday, April 5. For fans in the United Kingdom, that start time will be 3:30 p.m. British Summer Time, and in the United States, the IPL opener gets underway at 10:30 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time, 7:30 a.m. Pacific.

Watch the 2017 IPL Opening Match In India

HotStar Sports will stream the Sunrisers Hyderabad vs. Royal Challengers Bangalore T20 cricket match for viewers inside of India only. The stream can be found at this link. Again, HotStar's live stream will be accessible only to viewers with an internet IP address inside of India.

HotStar offers cricket fans a pair of ways to watch the live stream: a paid premium membership, which comes with a free trial, but will require registration, or a free option which allows anyone in India to stream the match on a five-minute delay, but can be accessed immediately by clicking on the "Watch For Free" box which will appear after clicking "live" as described above.

Live Stream IPL Match One in the United Kingdom and in Ireland

The Sunrisers Hyderabad Vs. Royal Challengers Bangalore Indian Premier League opener will be broadcast by Sky Sports, which means that to access a live stream, fans in the U.K. and in Ireland require a Sky Sports subscription. Subscribers then need to register for the satellite network's Sky Go streaming service, which is free, but fans must fill out some basic information at this link to obtain a Sky Go login.

Once registration is complete, Sky Go Sports' login page can be found at this link. Then, at last, cricket viewers can stream the match live from Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Uppal. Sky Go is also available on most mobile devices by downloading the Sky Go app. A full list of compatible devices can be found by clicking here.

Live Stream the 2017 Indian Premier League in the United States

To view the Sunrisers Hyderabad Vs. Royal Challengers Bangalore Indian Premier League 2017 opener live online, fans in the U.S. will need to register for a week-long free trial subscription to the Sling TV international sports package, which can be accessed at this link. Credit card information will be required, and the subscription price for the package is $10 per month. However, canceling before the end of the initial week-long trial puts a halt to any charges, allowing fans to watch the 2017 IPL opening match for free, legally.

The Sling TV lineup of several international sports channels includes Willow TV, a network which specializes in cricket broadcasts.

Once fans have signed up for the Sling TV package free trial, the next step is to download the Sling software (instructions on the Sling TV site at the link above) for desktop computers, as well as for a variety of mobile devices.

Sling TV is available for the Apple iOS, the Android OS, and Amazon Fire OS. The online TV service also offers a channel on several set-top boxes, including Roku, 4th Generation Apple TV, Google Chromecast, and others. For a complete list of Sling-compatible devices and operating systems, click this link.

How to Stream the 2017 Indian Premier League Around the World

The Cricket Gateway site is the officially licensed home of the IPL live stream in 2017 and can be accessed from most countries in the world by clicking on this link. However, the Cricket Gateway stream can be accessed only by paying a fee — equivalent to $29.99 in United States currency. The fee covers all matches throughout the 2017 IPL season, however, including the opener of the 10th season, Sunrisers vs. RCB.

To watch a live stream on mobile devices, download the Cricket Gateway app.

Sunrisers Hyderabad will also be missing a star player from 2016. Bangladesh fast bowling prodigy Mustafizur Rahman had been rumored to be out for the season, held back by the Bangladesh Cricket Board — but Sunrisers confirmed on Tuesday that "The Fizz" would join the team on April 7, following his national team's second T20 match in Sri Lanka.

As insurance in the event of Mustafizur's absence, however, Sunrisers have added two overseas quicks, Chris Jordan of England and Ben Laughlin of Australia.

But Royal Challengers Bangalore have added a new weapon of their own, in fast bowling England T20 specialist Tymal Mills.

Watch a preview of the 2017 Sunrisers Hyderabad season in the video below.

And preview the RCB 2017 campaign in the following video.

Here are the expected teams for the 2017 IPL opening match on Wednesday.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 1 David Warner (captain), 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Moises Henriques, 4 Yuvraj Singh, 5 Deepak Hooda, 6 Naman Ojha (wicketkeeper), 7 Ben Cutting/Chris Jordan, 8 Bipul Sharma, 9 Rashid Khan, 10 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 11 Ashish Nehra.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 1 Chris Gayle, 2 Mandeep Singh, 3 Travis Head, 4 Shane Watson (captain), 5 Kedar Jadhav (wicketkeeper), 6 Sachin Baby, 7 Stuart Binny, 8 Pawan Negi, 9 Yuzvendra Chahal, 10 Tymal Mills, 11 Aniket Choudhary/Harshal Patel.

[Featured Image by Anesh Debiky/Getty Images]