Taylor Swift’s ‘1989’ Rules The Charts In 2014

Taylor Swift may be ahead of her time: about 25 years ahead of her time, to be exact, as her album 1989 is the number one seller for 2014. Swift’s fifth studio album had a late surge in sales to 3.66 million units, just edging out the Frozen soundtrack which sold 3.53 million.

The statistics are particularly impressive given Swift’s album was only released in October of this year, but 1989 already has a couple of huge video hits for Taylor, in “Blank Space” and “Shake It Off,” which is a follow up to her anti-bullying anthem “Mean,” but in the superstar’s current pop style rather than her country roots.

Cause the players gonna play, play, play
And the haters gonna hate, hate, hate
Baby I’m just gonna shake, shake, shake
Shake it off

Taylor Swift will be touring in 2015 to support 1989, and tour dates have already been announced for Japan, Canada, Germany, the Netherlands, the U.K., and Australia in 2015, along with a U.S. tour. Dates that have gone on sale have already sold out, with more shows added in some areas with the highest demand for tickets. For example, Los Angeles will have five shows now for Swifties instead of the two originally planned.

In an interview with KIIS FM, Taylor said the 2015 tour would heavily feature tracks off of 1989, which means she’ll have to make some hard choices to keep Taylor Swift fans happy, mixing favorites with the new material.

“I know what the stage looks like and I know it’s going to be predominantly songs off 1989. All the fans seem to be saying that they really don’t want any song left off the setlist, so I’m taking that into consideration. It’s really exciting to have your newest album be everybody’s favorite.”

Swift also hinted that some of her older songs may be given a fresh twist on this tour, telling Time magazine, “When I go back and play songs I know they want to hear, like ‘Love Story’ or ‘Trouble,’ it’ll be interesting to reimagine them so that the fans get a new experience that feels in keeping with 1989.”

If you aren’t one of the 3.66 million who have already picked up or downloaded Taylor Swift’s 1989, here’s the full track list:

    1. Welcome To New York
    2. Blank Space
    3. Style
    4. Out of the Woods
    5. All You Had To Do Was Stay
    6. Shake It Off
    7. I Wish You would
    8. Bad Blood
    9. Wildest Dreams
    10. How You Get The Girl
    11. This Love
    12. I Know Places
    13. Clean

And in case you haven’t heard, the album is named after Taylor’s birth year. What an overachiever at 25 years old. What do you think of the new Taylor Swift album?

[Photo by Sarah Barlow, courtesy of Taylor Swift publicity]

Share this article: Taylor Swift’s ‘1989’ Rules The Charts In 2014
More from Inquisitr