Meryl Davis And Maks Chmerkovskiy Split? Maks Rumored To Be Dating JLo

Have Meryl Davis and Maks Chmerkovskiy split? Dating rumors were never actually confirmed, but it sounds like there won’t be any Maks and Meryl babies after all. According to a new report from People Magazine, Maks has been talking to a huge star who is newly single: Jennifer Lopez! Apparently the two have been “friends” for a while, but never really took their relationship past that level because Lopez was in a relationship with Casper Smart. And now that she is single, Maks is ready to mingle.

One source revealed:

“[Maks] danced with [JLo] at the [American Music Awards last November] and they kept in touch.”

A second source added:

“They are friends and have been talking.”

Meryl Davis and Maks Chmerkovskiy really fooled the world on Dancing With The Stars because everyone thought that they were romantically involved. Evidently the two are just friends despite their insane chemistry. Rumors were red-hot following the finale of the popular dance competition show, but someone threw a bucket of ice water on the whole story. Bummer.

As previously reported by The Inquisitr, Maks and Meryl are currently on separate trips: Davis is in Hawaii and Chmerkovskiy traveled to India. Apparently fans thought that the two would be together if they were, well, together, and they aren’t… and now there’s the whole Jennifer Lopez rumor.

According to The New York Daily News, Maks and JLo have been getting cozy since March. A source said that Lopez, 44, and Chmerkovskiy, 34, were “inseparable” during a romp at the Redbury Hotel in L.A. a couple of months ago:

“At one point, he put his arm around her waist and they seemed to be locked in a very passionate conversation.”

Sources say that the new couple isn’t going to try and hide their new romance, and that they will be seen out and about more frequently now that the world knows that Lopez and Smart have broken up.

If these rumors are true, it is a super sad day for fans of Meryl Davis and Maks Chmerkovskiy (as a unit). It is sort of hard to imagine Maks and JLo together — they are both very strong people who seem like they would butt heads, however it sounds like there is definitely something going on between them.

Do you think Maks and Meryl will end up together? Do you think Maks and Jennifer make a good couple?

[Photo courtesy of Lester Cohen/WireImage via People.com]