Justin Bieber, Lady Gaga, Eminem, Miley Cyrus, To Battle At First YouTube Music Awards

Some of the biggest names in music including Justin Bieber, Eminem, Lady Gaga, Rihanna, Katy Perry, Psy, Taylor Swift, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis and One Direction will battle for honors at the first ever YouTube Music awards.

The event will be live-streamed from Pier 36 in New York with co-hosts Jason Schwartzman and comedian/ musician Reggie Watts.

There are only six categories and mixes huge stars and some lesser-known, but the star power of the mainstream nominees such as Bieber, Selena Gomez, Katy Perry, Demi Lovato, Nicki Minaj, Kendrick Lamar should guarantee fierce voting by YouTube’s over one billion audience.

Selections were pulled from YouTube data over the last 12 months, and the nominees represent “the artists and videos with the highest levels of YouTube fan engagement, including views, likes, shares, comments and subscriptions.”

Fans choose the winners and can vote here. As well as big name nominees, confirmed performers should also draw views to the show.

First Ever YouTube Music Awards

Artists include M.I.A, Eminem, Lady Gaga, Arcade Fire, Avicii, Tyler the Creator, CDZA, Lindsey Stirling, Walk off the Earth and Earl Sweatshirt. The show starts 2 am PT/5 am ET on November 3.

The full list of nominees:

Video of the Year

Justin Bieber (featuring Nicki Minaj), “Beauty and A Beat.”

Lady Gaga, “Applause.”

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (ft. Mary Lambert), “Same Love.”

Miley Cyrus, “We Can’t Stop.”

Barack Obama vs Mitt Romney, “Epic Rap Battles of History.”

Demi Lovato, “Heart Attack.”

Girls’ Generation, “I Got A Boy.”

One Direction, “Best Song Ever.”

Psy, “Gentleman.”

Selena Gomez, “Come & Get It.”


Justin Bieber

Nicki Minaj

One Direction



Katy Perry

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Epic Rap Battles of History

Taylor Swift


Gangnam Style

Harlem Shake

I Knew You Were Trouble

Thrift Shop

Kendrick Lamar

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Naughty Boy



Response of the Year

Boyce Avenue (ft. Fifth Harmony), “Mirrors.”

Jayesslee, “Gangnam Style.”

Lindsey Stirling and Pentatonix, “Radioactive”

The Piano Guys, “Titanium/Pavane.”

Walk Off the Earth (featuring KRNFX), “I Knew You Were Trouble.”

Innovation of the Year

Anamanaguchi, “Endless Fantasy.”

Atoms for Peace, “Ingenue.”

Bat for Lashes, “Lilies.2

DeStorm, “See Me Standing.”

Toro Y Moi, “Say That.”

Who will you be voting for?