Jimmie Johnson wins 5th Cup series title

Once again Jimmie Johnson has done some things that no one else has been able to do. The most important thing he did today was win his fifth straight NASCAR Sprint Cup championship. He now ranks third in most championships won, two behind NASCAR Hall of Famers Dale Earnhardt Sr. and Richard Petty. The next thing he did that no one else has done was win the title after trailing in the points heading into the final cup race of the season.

This championship win also gives Hendrick Motor Sports, the team Jimmie drives for; it’s tenth Cup Championship giving the team the most championships in cup series history. They had previously won four titles with Jeff Gordon and another with Terry Labonte. The team also broke it own record for consecutive championships with five. They have won four in a row twice before.

By finishing this race in second Jimmie wins the title by 39 points over Denny Hamlin. Hamlin had a rough day spinning early in the race collecting some damage on his way to a 14th place finish. He started the day with a 15 point advantage. Kevin Harvick, who also had a shot at the title, suffered a pit road speeding penalty on his way to a third place finish. However he started the day 46 points out of the lead.

Related Links:

  • MTR Auto Racing
  • Joshua Lobdell.com
Share this article: Jimmie Johnson wins 5th Cup series title
More from Inquisitr