Heisman Trophy 2012: Historic Three Man Football Race

Heisman Trophy 2012 is predicted to be a three man race for the prized college football achievement award. What’s more, history could be made Saturday evening if Heisman Trophy voters give the award to Johnny Manziel, the Texas A&M freshman quarterback who goes by the moniker “Johnny Football.” According to CNN, no freshman has ever won the Heisman Trophy, but 2012 could change all that.

This is the 78th Heisman to be awarded since its inception in 1935. The trophy is named in memory of John Heisman, who is believed to have significantly contributed to the sport of football by inventing the forward pass, legalized in 1906. 2012 has a good chance–two out of three–of seeing a historic first for the coveted award.

“It’s just surreal, that’s the best way I can describe it,” Manziel said, feeling amazed at being mentioned as a Heisman possibility.

Experts say the race to the Heisman trophy is down to three men with each having a good chance at winning. Quarterbacks Johnny Manziel and Collin Klein represent Texas A&M and Kansas State, respectively. Manti Malietau Lous Te’o of Notre Dame would be another historic Heisman Trophy winner, since he would become the first defense only player to win the Heisman as a linebacker.

Manziel has led an astounding year, especially for a freshman, completing 273 of 400 passes for 3,419 yards and leading the Texas A&M Aggies to a 10-2 record. Klein, who has completed 180 of 272 passes for 2,490 yards, has led the Kansas State Wildcats to an 11-1 record this season. As a linebacker Te’o has also proved himself to be a remarkable player, recording 103 total tackles and seven interceptions, while leading Notre Dame to an undefeated season.

What college football player do you feel is most deserving of winning the Heisman Trophy in 2012?