Michelle Bachmann Projected To Keep Her House Seat

Conservative, failed presidential candidate, and Tea Party-favorite Michele Bachmann of Minnesota will keep her seat in Congress, according to multiple reports and projections.

The controversial representative has been projected to win re-election over Democratic challenger businessman Jim Graves, reports Reuters. The close race had Bachmann leading Graves by just 3,256 votes (which is under 1 percentage point) from more than 351,000 votes cast in the Minnesota 6th Congressional District with 98.2 percent of precincts reporting.

Minnesota law only requires a recount if the margin of victory is less than half a percentage point, cementing Bachmann’s re-election just barely. She said in a statement:

“It has truly been an honor and a privilege to represent the people of Minnesota’s sixth district in Congress, and I am humbled that they have placed their trust in me for another term.”

Called a “conservative firebrand” by Raw Story, Bachmann played a crucial role in the growth of the controversial Tea Party movement and achieved nationwide renown after her failed bid for the GOP presidential ticket earlier this year. In light of her failed candidacy, her opponent criticized her of losing concern for her district, though the attack didn’t take effect enough to keep Bachmann from another term.

Interestingly, she has never won more than 53 percent in the district, winning by three percentage points in 2008. This election looks to be Bachmann’s tightest win yet. Continued the statement:

“I am extremely grateful to my dedicated volunteers for spending countless hours knocking on doors and making phone calls. I pledge to continue to work every day to create jobs and do everything I can to make life more affordable for Minnesota’s families. Our children and grandchildren deserve a future filled with opportunity in a country that is safe and secure, and that’s what I’m fighting for in Washington.”

In addition to Michele Bachmann, VP candidate Paul Ryan has also been re-elected to his Congressional seat.