2012 Pro Bowl Rosters; 49ers and Patriots Lead League With 8 Players Selected

There will be eight San Fransisco 49ers and 8 New England Patriots in the Pro Bowl this year. The 2011 Pro Bowl selections were just announced and the 49ers and the Patriots led the way with 8 players apiece heading to the NFL all-star game. The Green Bay Packers and the Baltimore Ravens will be sending 7 players.

According to NFL.com, Brady will be the starting quarterback for the AFC. Fellow Patriots Wes Welker, Rob Gronkowski, Vince Wilfork, Andre Carter, Brian Waters and Logan Mankins will join him on the field.

For the NFC, Aaron Rodgers will be starting ahead of record setting quarterback Drew Brees. Rodgers said:

“It does have special significance, because when I was voted in in 2009, I was the third guy and I was very thankful to be voted in, and got the opportunity to start because of some injuries and guys not going. It’s great to be voted in as a starter, that means a lot to me and it’s a special honor.”

Brees didn’t earn a starting spot but his tight end Jimmy Graham, who will be attending his first Pro Bowl, did. Graham joins 14 other players in the NFC who will be attending their first pro bowl. Graham said:

“If you look around the NFC, you see a ton of amazing and talented players at tight end. And to be thought of in that company by my peers, the head coaches and the fans who follow the NFL is something I take seriously.”

The AFC will have thirteen first-time selections representing at the 2012 Pro Bowl.

Will you be watching the Pro Bowl?

Share this article: 2012 Pro Bowl Rosters; 49ers and Patriots Lead League With 8 Players Selected
More from Inquisitr