Minimum Wage 2015: List Of States With Minimum Wage Increases Effective January 1

A large volume of minimum wage 2015 raises are about to emerge as the new year draws near. One of the biggest laws several states will have is a minimum wage increase.

Lexology compiled a list of states that will see a hike in hourly minimum wage earnings for employees.

All of the minimum wage increases are effective January 1, 2015.

  • Alaska: From $7.75 to $8.75 per hour. State law doesn’t allow tip credit.
  • Arizona: From $7.90 to $8.05 per hour. Tipped employees will get a minimum cash wage increase to $5.05 per hour with the maximum tip credit the same at $3.00 per hour.
  • Arkansas: From $6.25 to $7.50 per hour. Tipped employees’ minimum cash wages stays the same at $2.63 per hour; the maximum tip credit increases to $4.87 per hour.
  • Colorado: According to the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), the minimum wage was finally approved to go from $8 to 8.23 per hour.
  • Connecticut: From $8.70 to $9.15 per hour. Maximum tip credit varies depending on the tipped employee’s position.
  • Delaware: From $7.75 to $8.25 per hour. Cash wages for tipped employees remain at $2.23 per hour; the maximum tip credit will increase to $6.02 per hour.
  • Florida: From $7.93 to $8.05 per hour. Tipped employees’ cash wages will rise to $5.03 per hour; maximum tip credit to stay the same at $3.02 per hour.
  • Hawaii: From $7.25 to $7.75 per hour effective January 1, 2015. Tipped employees will see the maximum tip credit increases to $0.50 per hour. The state law stipulates that the tip credit may only be taken if wages and tips come to an employee earning at least $7 more than the minimum wage, or $14.75 per hour in 2015.
  • Maryland: From $7.25 to $8.00 per hour. Tipped employees’ minimum cash wages will remain at $3.63 per hour; the maximum tip credit will change to $4.37 per hour. On July 1, 2015, the minimum wage increases a second time — to $8.25 per hour; maximum tip credit also goes up to $4.62 per hour.
  • Massachusetts: From $8 to $9 per hour. Tipped employees’ minimum cash wage rises to $3.00 per hour; maximum tip credit increases to $6.00 per hour.
  • Missouri: From $7.50 to $7.65 per hour. Tipped employees’ minimum cash wages increase to $3.83 per hour with a maximum tip credit increase to $3.825 per hour.
  • Montana: From $7.90 to $8.05 per hour. Businesses with annual gross sales of $110,000 or less, the minimum wage stays $4 per hour. Tip credits are “prohibited by state law” in 2015.
  • Nebraska: From $7.25 to $8 per hour. Minimum cash wages stay the same at $2.13 per hour; the maximum tip credit goes up to $5.87 per hour.
  • New Jersey: From $8.25 to $8.38 per hour.
  • New York: From $8 to $8.75 per hour effective December 31, 2014. Minimum wage for tipped workers and the maximum tip credit will increase for employees in specific industries. In addition, the minimum weekly salary for exempt executives and administrators will increase from $600.00 to $656.25 on December 31, 2014. A second increase will take effect on December 31, 2015, when the minimum wage increases to $9 per hour.
  • Ohio: From $7.95 to $8.10 for workers 16 and older who work for employers grossing at least $297,000 in receipts. Smaller business and employees under the age of 16 will see a minimum wage increase to $7.25 per hour. Tipped employees’ minimum cash wages increases to $4.05 per hour; maximum tip credit increases to $4.05 per hour.
  • Oregon: From $9.10 to $9.25 per hour. Oregon prohibits tip credits.
  • Rhode Island: From $8 to $9 per hour. Tipped employees won’t see a change in their minimum cash wages. It stays at $2.89 per hour; maximum tip credit increases to $6.11 per hour.
  • South Dakota: From $7.25 to $8.50 per hour. Tipped employees will have a minimum cash wage increase to $4.25 per hour; maximum tip credit decreases from $5.12 to $4.25 per hour.
  • Vermont: From $8.73 to $9.15 per hour. Tipped employees get a minimum cash wage increase to $4.58 per hour; maximum tip credit will increase to $4.57 per hour.
  • Washington: From $9.32 to $9.47 per hour. State law does not allow tip credits.
  • West Virginia: From $7.25 to $8.00 per hour effective December 31, 2014. Tipped employees’ minimum cash wages raise to $2.40 per hour with the maximum tip credit increasing to $5.60 per hour. The minimum wage increases again — to $8.75 per hour, effective December 31, 2015.

[Image via 10TV.com]