American Library Association Announces Newbery Award 2009, Caldecott 2009

The American Library Association (ALA) has announced the winners for the Newbery Award 2009 and the Caldecott 2009.

Newbery Award 2009: The Winners

The overall 2009 Newbery Award winner is Neil Gaiman for The Graveyard Book. The book was illustrated by Dave McKean and published by HarperCollins Children's Books.

Four books were also named as Newbery Honor Books: The Underneath, by Kathi Appelt; The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba's Struggle for Freedom, by Margarita Engle; Savvy, by Ingrid Law; and After Tupac D Foster, by Jacqueline Woodson.

Caldecott 2009: The Winners

The overall 2009 Caldecott winner is Beth Krommes for The House in the Night, written by Susan Marie Swanson and published by Houghton Mifflin Company.

Three books were also named as Caldecott Honor Books: A Couple of Boys Have the Best Week Ever, written and illustrated by Marla Frazee; How I Learned Geography, written and illustrated by Uri Shulevitz; and A River of Words: The Story of William Carlos Williams, illustrated by Melissa Sweet and written by Jen Bryant.

You can find a list of other American Library Association awards for 2009 here.