Baltimore Ravens Become Latest Super Bowl Champions To Miss Playoffs

The tears are flowing just as fast as the beers are flowing for Baltimore Ravens fans in the wake of their favorite teams failing to make the NFL playoffs a year removed from winning it all at Super Bowl XLVII.

Some will jump off the Baltimore bandwagon. Others will have their faith in the Ravens shaken.

What kind of team misses the playoffs the year after becoming world champions?

The kind from Foxborough, Mass. The type that makes port in Tampa, Fla. The variety found in Pittsburgh, Penn. The class that comes from Denver, Colo. The sort that plays in East Rutherford, NJ.

And now, the kind from Baltimore.

The Baltimore Ravens aren’t the first team to miss the playoffs the year following a Super Bowl victory. Heck, almost half (seven) of the winners from the past 15 years have done so; the Pittsburgh Steelers did it twice.

In fact, all time, almost one third (15 of 47) of Super Bowl-winning teams don’t make it the postseason the next year.

The Baltimore Ravens are simply the latest. And with a.500 season the following season, the Ravens fared better than eight previous Super Bowl Champion teams.

Those teams likely didn’t have a quarterback that threw more interceptions than touch down passes like the Baltimore Ravens did.

They might not have been outscored 75-24 in the final two games of the season like the Baltimore Ravens were in 2013.

Those teams might not have had their entire running game package outrun by individual players like the Baltimore Ravens did (and the Giants, Jaguars and Falcons in 2013).

This is the first time the Baltimore Ravens missed the playoffs in the last six years; it won’t be the last.

The Baltimore Ravens are the first team to miss the playoffs after winning the Super Bowl; they won’t be the last.

What do you think of Baltimore missing the playoffs in the wake of winning the big one? Who do you think will make it to Super Bowl XLVIII? Do you think that team will make it to postseason play in 2015?

Game Season Winning team Next Yr Record Win % Result
I 1966 Green Bay Packers 9-4-1 0.679 Won Super Bowl
II 1967 Green Bay Packers 6-7-1 0.464 Missed
III 1968 New York Jets 10-4 0.714 Lost Divisional
IV 1969 Kansas City Chiefs 7-5-2 0.571 Missed
V 1970 Baltimore Colts 10-4 0.714 Lost Conference
VI 1971 Dallas Cowboys 10-4 0.714 Lost Conference
VII 1972 Miami Dolphins 12-2 0.857 Won Super Bowl
VIII 1973 Miami Dolphins 11-3 0.786 Lost Divisional
IX 1974 Pittsburgh Steelers 12-2 0.857 Won Super Bowl
X 1975 Pittsburgh Steelers 10-4 0.714 Lost Conference
XI 1976 Oakland Raiders 11-3 0.786 Lost Conference
XII 1977 Dallas Cowboys 12-4 0.750 Lost Super Bowl
XIII 1978 Pittsburgh Steelers 12-4 0.750 Won Super Bowl
XIV 1979 Pittsburgh Steelers 9-7 0.563 Missed
XV 1980 Oakland Raiders 7-9 0.438 Missed
XVI 1981 San Francisco 49ers 3-6 0.333 Missed
XVII 1982 Washington Redskins 14-2 0.875 Lost Super Bowl
XVIII 1983 Los Angeles Raiders 11-4 0.688 Lost Wild Card
XIX 1984 San Francisco 49ers 10-6 0.625 Lost Wild Card
XX 1985 Chicago Bears 14-2 0.875 Lost Divisional
XXI 1986 New York Giants 6-9 0.400 Missed
XXII 1987 Washington Redskins 7-9 0.438 Missed
XXIII 1988 San Francisco 49ers 14-2 0.875 Won Super Bowl
XXIV 1989 San Francisco 49ers 14-2 0.875 Lost Conference
XXV 1990 New York Giants 8-8 0.500 Missed
XXVI 1991 Washington Redskins 9-7 0.563 Lost Divisional
XXVII 1992 Dallas Cowboys 12-4 0.750 Won Super Bowl
XXVIII 1993 Dallas Cowboys 12-4 0.750 Lost Conference
XXIX 1994 San Francisco 49ers 11-5 0.688 Lost Divisional
XXX 1995 Dallas Cowboys 10-6 0.625 Lost Divisional
XXXI 1996 Green Bay Packers 13-3 0.813 Lost Super Bowl
XXXII 1997 Denver Broncos 14-2 0.875 Won Super Bowl
XXXIII 1998 Denver Broncos 6-10 0.375 Missed
XXXIV 1999 St. Louis Rams 10-6 0.625 Lost Divisional
XXXV 2000 Baltimore Ravens 10-6 0.625 Lost Divisional
XXXVI 2001 New England Patriots 9-7 0.563 Missed
XXXVII 2002 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 7-9 0.438 Missed
XXXVIII 2003 New England Patriots 14-2 0.875 Won Super Bowl
XXXIX 2004 New England Patriots 10-6 0.625 Lost Divisional
XL 2005 Pittsburgh Steelers 8-8 0.500 Missed
XLI 2006 Indianapolis Colts 13-3 0.813 Lost Divisional
XLII 2007 New York Giants 12-4 0.750 Lost Divisional
XLIII 2008 Pittsburgh Steelers 9-7 0.563 Missed
XLIV 2009 New Orleans Saints 11-5 0.688 Lost Wild Card
XLV 2010 Green Bay Packers 15-1 0.938 Lost Divisional
XLVI 2011 New York Giants 9-7 0.563 Missed
XLVII 2012 Baltimore Ravens 8-8 0.500 Missed