Microsoft Downgrades Xbox One Release From 21 To 13 Countries

The Microsoft Xbox One will debut in 13 countries instead of the original 21 locations the tech giant had promised at the time of its initial press release.

Cut from the November launch are Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Microsoft says the delay for the countries listed above is being caused by “many factors” including localization, language recognition, and content partnerships.

Still prepared to launch are Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Spain, the United Kingdom, the US, and New Zealand.

Many future Xbox One customers in the cut off countries have already pre-ordered the gaming console. Microsoft isn’t pushing those pre-ordering customers to the side; instead they will receive a “pack-in” game when their Xbox One consoles start arriving in 2014.

In apologizing for the massive delay, Microsoft released the following statement:

“We understand this will be disappointing news for our fans in the impacted countries, and we are doing everything we can to bring Xbox One to you as soon as possible next year.”

So far, the Xbox One has landed with a thud. Almost immediately after Microsoft announced its next generation gaming console, potential customers began to complain about its “always on requirement” and various additional costs associated with DVR capabilities and the use of DRM technology.

Do you think Microsoft is failing to properly promote the Xbox One?

Share this article: Microsoft Downgrades Xbox One Release From 21 To 13 Countries
More from Inquisitr