Robin Thicke On What To Expect From His New Album ‘Blurred Lines’

Robin Thicke will release his album Blurred Lines on July 30, and now the Interscope artist is opening up about his new work.

Thicke has been flying high in 2013 with his first single, also titled “Blurred Lines,” remaining No. 1 on the Hot 100 UK chart for four weeks in a row. The new single featuring Pharrell has also topped the charts in 27 other countries.

The artist sat down this week with to explain his new work. According to Robin Thicke:

“I’ve always written and produced my own music. My last album didn’t sell very well — in fact, not at all. I thought to myself, ‘Maybe I’m just being selfish and I want all the credit and I want everybody to love me and know how great I am and all this BS.’ And then I realized, this time, I’m not going to do it all on my own. I’m going to hire some of the great hitmakers in the business and try to make some music everybody can enjoy instead of just my small fanbase.”

One of the songs that Thicke seems to be most proud of is the Dr. Luke produced and Kendrick Lamar featured single “Give It 2 U.” Speaking about that song, Thicke reveals:

“It’s very exciting. It’s very Michael Jackson, Prince but also pretty hip-hop. It’s a big, shiny pop record. It’s fun.”

The album unlike his past work does not feature songs about Robin Thicke’s insecurities, fears, failures, and other personal issues. Instead, the singer says he wanted to make a “feel good” album that would be fun for his listeners.

Here is the full tracklist for Blurred Lines:

1. “Blurred Lines” ft. T.I. + Pharrell
2. “Take It Easy On Me”
3. “Ooo La La”
4. “Ain’t No Hat 4 That”
5. “Get In My Way”
6. “Give It 2 U” ft. Kendrick Lamar
7. “Feel Good”
8. “Go Stupid 4 U”
9. “4 The Rest Of My Life”
10. “Top Of The World”
11. “The Good Life”

Haven’t had the time to listen to Blurred Lines?

Share this article: Robin Thicke On What To Expect From His New Album ‘Blurred Lines’
More from Inquisitr