‘The Big Bang Theory’ Snags Several Critics Choice TV Awards

Critics Choice TV

The Big Bang Theory picked up a number of awards at the Critics Choice Television Awards.

The hit CBS sitcom took home three awards during the ceremony on Monday evening. In addition to recognizing a few of the show’s supporting players, The Big Bang Theory was named this year’s best comedy series.

Co-stars Simon Helberg and Kaley Cuoco each took home an award for their portrayal of Howard Wolowitz and Penny, respectively. Cuoco ended up sharing her honor with The Middle star Eden Sher.

The Big Bang Theory wasn’t the only hit show to receive honors at the Critics Choice Television Awards on Monday. The critically-acclaimed AMC drama Breaking Bad also took home its fair share of awards. The show was declared best drama alongside the HBO series Game of Thrones.

Bryan Cranston, who famously portrayed Walter White in Breaking Bad, won best actor in a drama series for his performance. Although Elizabeth Moss wasn’t recognized for her role as Peggy Olson in Mad Men, she did take home an award for her turn in the miniseries Top of the Lake.

FX’s spine-tingling series American Horror Story: Asylum was up for six awards last night. However, the show would only walk away with two awards for Sarah Paulson and Zachary Quinto.

While The Big Bang Theory won the lion’s share of comedy awards at the ceremony, a few other funny individuals were recognized by the people behind the awards program. Louie C.K. was honored for his turn in Louie, while Julia Louis-Dreyfus took home an award for Veep.

“I’ve spent my entire career making sure to ignore what critics say and what critics write. Tonight that strategy has changed,” said during her acceptance speech.

Other big winners include Michael Douglas and Steven Soderbergh’s Liberace biopic Behind the Candelabra. Comedian Bob Newhart was honored with the Critics Choice Television Icon award. Henry Winkler paid homage to the Newart star’s television career.

Are you happy that The Big Bang Theory took home several honorss during the Critics Choice Television Awards?