April 30, 2019
The 2019 Tony Awards: Who Was Nominated For Broadway's Biggest Honors

The nominations for the 2019 Tony Awards have been announced, and some of Broadway's most dazzling stars as well as some Hollywood heavyweights have been honored. Tony winner and television actress Bebe Neuwirth and Tony nominee Brandon Victor Dixon announced the nominees from New York Public Library for the Performing Arts at Lincoln Center.

Following are the nominations for the highest honors Broadway bestows on some of the hardest working people in show business.

Best Musical

Ain't Too Proud—The Life and Times of The TemptationsBeetlejuiceHadestownThe PromTootsie

Best Leading Actress in a Musical

Stephanie J. Block, The Cher ShowCaitlin Kinnunen, The PromBeth Leavel, The PromEva Noblezada, HadestownKelli O'Hara, Kiss Me, Kate

Best Leading Actor in a Musical

Brooks Ashmanskas, The PromDerrick Baskin, Ain't Too ProudAlex Brightman, BeetlejuiceDamon Daunno, Oklahoma!Santino Fontana, Tootsie

Best Revival of a Musical

Kiss Me, KateOklahoma!

Best Revival of a Play

All My SonsThe Boys in the BandBurn ThisTorch SongThe Waverly Gallery

Best Play

The FerrymanWhat the Constitution Means to MeInkChoir BoyGary

Best Original Score

Be More Chill, Joe IconisBeetlejuice, Eddie PerfectHadestown, Anais MitchellThe Prom, Matthew Sklar and Chad Beguelin

Best Direction of a Play

Rupert Goold, InkSam Mendes, The FerrymanBartlett Sher, To Kill a MockingbirdIvo van Hove, NetworkGeorge C. Wolfe, Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus

Best Direction of a Musical

Rachel Chavkin, HadestownScott Ellis, TootsieDaniel Fish, Oklahoma!Des McAnuff, Ain't Too ProudCasey Nicholaw, The Prom

Best Sound Design in a Play

Adam Cork, InkScott Lehrer, To Kill a MockingbirdFitz Patton, Choir BoyNick Powell, The FerrymanEric Sleichim, Network

Best Sound Design in a Musical

Peter Hylenski, BeetlejuicePeter Hylenski, King KongSteve Canyon Kennedy, Ain't Too ProudDrew Levy, Oklahoma!Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz, Hadestown

Best Leading Actress in a Play

Annette Bening, All My SonsLaura Donnelly, The FerrymanElaine May, The Waverly GalleryJanet McTeer, Bernhardt/HamletLaurie Metcalf, Hillary and ClintonHeidi Schreck, What the Constitution Means to Me

Best Leading Actor in a Play

Jeff Daniels, To Kill a MockingbirdBryan Cranston, NetworkPaddy Considine, The FerrymanAdam Driver, Burn ThisJeremy Pope, Choir Boy

Best Scenic Design for a Musical

Robert Brill and Peter Nigrini, Ain't Too ProudPeter England, King KongRachel Hauck, HadestownLaura Jellinek, Oklahoma!David Korins, Beetlejuice

Best Scenic Design for a Play

Miriam Buether, To Kill a MockingbirdBunny Christie, InkRob Howell, The FerrymanSanto Loquasto, Gary: A Sequel to Titus AndronicusJan Versweyveld, Network

Best Featured Actor in a Musical

Andre De Shields, HadestownAndy Grotelueschen, TootsiePatrick Page, HadestownJeremy Pope, Ain't Too ProudEphraim Sykes, Ain't Too Proud

Best Featured Actor in a Play

Bertie Carvel, InkRobin De Jesús, The Boys in the BandGideon Glick, To Kill a MockingbirdBrandon Uranowitz, Burn ThisBenjamin Walker, All My Sons

Best Book of a Musical

Ain't Too Proud, Dominique MorisseauBeetlejuice, Scott Brown and Anthony KingHadestown, Anaïs MitchellThe Prom, Bob Martin and Chad BeguelinTootsie, Robert Horn

Best Featured Actress in a Musical

Lilli Cooper, TootsieAmber Gray, HadestownSarah Stiles, TootsieAli Stroker, Oklahoma!Mary Testa, Oklahoma!

Best Choreography

Camille A. Brown, Choir BoyWarren Carlyle, Kiss Me, KateDenis Jones, TootsieDavid Neumann, HadestownSergio Trujillo, Ain't Too Proud

Best Featured Actress in a Play

Fionnula Flanagan, The FerrymanCelia Keenan-Bolger, To Kill a MockingbirdKristine Nielsen, Gary: A Sequel to Titus AndronicusJulie White, Gary: A Sequel to Titus AndronicusRuth Wilson, King Lear

Best Orchestrations

Michael Chorney and Todd Sickafoose, HadestownLarry Hochman, Kiss Me, KateDaniel Kluger, Oklahoma!Simon Hale, TootsieHarold Wheeler, Ain't Too Proud

Best Performance by a Lead Actor in a Play

Paddy Considine, The FerrymanBryan Cranston, NetworkJeff Daniels, To Kill a MockingbirdAdam Driver, Burn ThisJeremy Pope, Choir Boy

Best Costume Design of a Play

Rob Howell, The FerrymanToni-Leslie James, Bernhardt/HamletClint Ramos, Torch SongAnn Roth, Gary: A Sequel to Titus AndronicusAnn Roth, To Kill a Mockingbird

Best Costume Design of a Musical

Michael Krass, HadestownWilliam Ivey Long, BeetlejuiceWilliam Ivey Long, TootsieBob Mackie, The Cher ShowPaul Tazewell, Ain't Too Proud

Best Lighting Design of a Play

Neil Austin, InkJules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer, Gary: A Sequel to Titus AndronicusPeter Mumford, The FerrymanJennifer Tipton, To Kill a MockingbirdJan Versweyveld and Tal Yarden, Network

Best Lighting Design of a Musical

Kevin Adams, The Cher ShowHowell Binkley, Ain't Too ProudBradley King, HadestownPeter Mumford, King KongKenneth Posner and Peter Nigrini, Beetlejuice

Regional Theatre Tony AwardTheatreWorks Silicon Valley (previously announced)

Playbill reported that there will be several honorary awards recipients during this season's awards, including Terrence McNally, Rosemary Harris, and Harold Wheeler, who will each receive a Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre awards.

Also honored will be television and stage actress Judith Light, who has been named this year's Isabelle Stevenson Award winner. Special Tony Awards will be given to Jason Michael Webb, Sonny Tilders, and the late Marin Mazzie.

The 73rd annual Tony Awards ceremony will be broadcast on CBS from New York's famed Radio City Music Hall June 9 and will be hosted by James Corden.