College Football Playoff Selection Committee Appoints Four New Members

The College Football Playoff Selection Committee appointed four new members on Thursday, as reported on by ESPN. Former University of Michigan head football coach Lloyd Carr headlines the group that also includes Rob Mullens, Herb Deromedi, and Jeff Bower. The two-year terms of Pat Haden, Mike Gould, Mike Tranghese, and Tom Osborne expired at the end of the 2015 season, opening the door for the new members who all signed on for three-year terms. The first ever chairman of the College Football Playoff Selection Committee, Jeff Long, was replaced last week by Texas Tech athletic director Kirby Hocutt.

College Football Playoff executive director Bill Hancock released this statement regarding the appointments.

“We are delighted that Jeff, Lloyd, Herb and Rob are joining the committee. Throughout the selection process, it was essential that the four new members have an in-depth knowledge and passion for college football. Each of these four fit that description perfectly. They will continue the high integrity of the committee.”

College Football Playoff Logo
[Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images]

Lloyd Carr

Carr joins the College Football Playoff Selection Committee after an illustrious coaching career in Ann Arbor. He was hired as the head coach of the Wolverines in 1995 and remained on the sidelines until his retirement following the 2007 season. Carr led Michigan to five Big Ten titles and a National Championship in 1997. He arrived in Michigan in 1980 and spent 14 years as a defensive assistant before being called upon to lead the maize and blue as head coach. Carr said he’s excited to be back in college football.

“Even though you’re not in the game, you’re a part of the game and you’re a part of a team. You have an opportunity to serve the game and try to do a good job giving back to the game and the coaches and players and fans. I’m just hoping I’m up to the task.”

Rob Mullens

Mullens will represent the PAC-12 on the College Football Playoff Selection Committee, as he currently serves as Oregon’s athletic director. The Ducks participated in the first ever College Football Playoff following the 2014 season, and Mullens becomes one of five active athletic directors on the committee. The West Virginia graduate was also humbled by the announcement.

“It is truly an honor to serve on the College Football Playoff selection committee. I am looking forward to serving alongside the other distinguished members.”

Herb Deromedi

Deromedi, like Carr, joins the College Football Playoff Selection Committee from the state of Michigan. Deromedi was the head coach at Central Michigan from 1978-93 and served as the school’s athletic director from 1994-2006. The two-time MAC Coach of the Year compiled the most wins (110) in conference history. Despite the in-state connection with Carr, Deromedi sees this as an honor to represent the entire country, not just The Wolverine State.

“I kid when I say this, and I say it tongue in cheek, but there are probably people across the country saying, ‘Who’s Herb Deromedi?’ but here in these parts people are saying that Lloyd was selected because I’d need somebody to carry my luggage to the meetings. Truth be told, I’m as excited he is a part of it as much as I am to be.”

Jeff Bower

Another former coach joins the College Football Playoff Selection Committee in Bower, who was the head coach at Southern Miss from 1990-2007, collecting three conference Coach of the Year honors along the way. He was a Golden Eagle for 29 years in all, playing quarterback at the school and spending nine seasons as an assistant coach. As of this posting, Bower had not offered any comment.

College Football Playoff National Championship Trophy
[Photo by Jennifer Stewart/Getty Images]
The College Football Playoff Selection Committee determines the Top 25 rankings beginning in Week 10 of the regular season, before ultimately determining a final four. Those four teams compete in a playoff where the winner is crowned National Champion. Ohio State and Alabama are the first two schools to earn National Championships under the current format.

[Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images]

Share this article: College Football Playoff Selection Committee Appoints Four New Members
More from Inquisitr