‘Destiny’ Servers Down Thursday For Four Hours, More Maintenance For ‘The Taken King’ [Update]

Destiny players looking to get some play time in during the last days of school will need to plan something else during the morning / early afternoon of Thursday, August 6. Bungie announced that it will temporarily bring the PlayStation and Xbox shooter’s servers down, presumably as part of maintenance to get ready for The Taken King.

Update: The Destiny servers came back online at approximately 3 p.m. ET. The promise of only four hours of downtime was met.

Original Story:

Bungie called out the Destiny downtime via its official Help Twitter account. Player’s should expect to go without the game for approximately four hours starting at 11 a.m. ET / 8 a.m. PT.

The following details were also provided on the Bungie support page, along with the tip that players may see the Loganberry error code during the maintenance window.

  • Beginning at 8:00 AM PDT (3:00 PM UTC), Destiny will be taken offline for scheduled maintenance.
  • Players signed in shortly before then will receive prior notice via in-game messaging.
  • Players will not be able to log into Destiny once the maintenance has started.
  • Maintenance is scheduled to conclude around 12:00 PM PDT (7:00 PM UTC).

This marks the third time that Destiny has been brought down for a significant stretch of time in as many months. Bungie brought the servers down for almost six hours back in June before taking them offline for just over eight hours in July. We can probably bet on at least one more prior to The Taken King launch.

As before, all of this maintenance is to lay the groundwork for The Taken King expansion and Destiny 2.0 release on September 15. The changes detailed by Bungie thus far have been significant, and there’s little of the game that hasn’t been touched in some way.

As I covered for the Inquisitr the past two days, the leveling system is getting a complete overhaul to scrap the current Light level system that is tied to the armor character’s wear. Additionally, Nolan North will replace Peter Dinklage as the voice of Ghost not just for the new content, but all existing content from vanilla Destiny.

Destiny: The Taken King (PlayStation, Xbox)

The story structure is being redone as well with a greater emphasis on quests to communicate the plot while more in-world details are being added to explain the backstory of the Destiny universe. This kind of backstory is currently relegated to the Grimoire cards that are only accessible from Bungie’s website and the Destiny app.

Of course, the weapons are getting the once over too. Significant changes are being made to entire weapon classes, as well as individual guns. Be sure to check the best and most painful weapon buffs and nerfs.

What will you do while Destiny is offline tomorrow? Sound off in the comments below.

[Images via Bungie]