Chicago Blackhawks Win Third Stanley Cup In Six Years

“Dynasty” is a word that gets thrown around unnecessarily at times when it comes to championships in the world of sports. You’d be hard pressed, though, to find a hockey fan (or sports fan in general) who wouldn’t consider the Chicago Blackhawks a true hockey dynasty. For the third time in just six seasons, the Blackhawks were crowned Stanley Cup Champions in front of their hometown crowd. Chicago beat the Tampa Bay Lightning 2-0 in Game Six of the six-game series.

Goalie Corey Crawford gets mugged after the victory.

This title marks the sixth overall championship for the Chicago franchise, one of the original six NHL organizations. With its core nucleus of Jonathan Toews, Duncan Keith, Patrick Kane, Marian Hossa, Brent Seabrook, and Patrick Sharp, the Blackhawks have forever solidified their dominance within the Canada-crazed sport.

Two-time Norris Trophy winner (Best Defenseman) Keith won the Conn Smythe Trophy as MVP of the 2015 playoffs. When the Blackhawks won in 2013, the award went to Kane, while in 2010 it went to Toews, per ESPN.

Keith, who played the fourth most playoff minutes for a defenseman in postseason history (715) had this to say after the game, per Fox Sports.

“It’s unbelievable how close the series was, how one little mistake can make the difference. It’s a lot of feelings of happiness, obviously. But there’s some relief we got the job done. We can take a breath now.”

“It’s been really special. You play with the same guys for a long time and you develop a bond, and then when you can win a championship, it just reinforces that. To be able to do it three times, we’re all proud of it. We all talked about what it would be like, and we’re just super proud to be part of a group like this.”

Professional sports teams throughout Chicago sent congratulatory tweets to the Blackhawks players and their fans, per CSNChicago.

(Photo by Jon Durr/Getty Images)