Taylor Swift leading the iHeart Radio Music Nominations

iHeartRadio Music Awards 2016 Complete List Of Nominees

The iHeartRadio Music Awards announced their 2016 nominees in February.

This year, 21 of the 31 total categories are new to the lineup. Four of those categories were created specifically to honor Latin artists. Several of the new categories are fan-voted – Best Fan Army, Best Lyrics, Best Collaboration, Best Cover Song, Best Song from a Movie, and Most Meme-Able Moment. Voting started February 9th and will continue through March 25th.

For the 2016 iHeartRadio Music Awards, The Weeknd, Taylor Swift, and Adele are leading with the most nominations. The Weeknd and Taylor Swift are both up for seven awards each, while Adele, Drake, and Diplo have been nominated for five.

“Our awards are not chosen by a mysterious panel of judges,” John Sykes, the president of iHeart Media’s Entertainment Enterprises, said. “They are a true reflection of the artists and songs our listeners supported all year long.”

Check out the full list of 2016 nominees below.

Song of the Year:

  • “Blank Space” — Taylor Swift
  • “Can’t Feel My Face” — The Weeknd
  • “Hello” — Adele
  • “Shut Up and Dance” — Walk The Moon
  • “Uptown Funk” — Mark Ronson featuring Bruno Mars

Female Artist of the Year: (New Category)

  • Adele
  • Carrie Underwood
  • Meghan Trainor
  • Selena Gomez
  • Taylor Swift

Male Artist of the Year: (New Category)

  • Ed Sheeran
  • Justin Bieber
  • Luke Bryan
  • Sam Smith
  • The Weeknd

Best New Artist:

  • Fetty Wap
  • Hozier
  • Sam Hunt
  • Shawn Mendes
  • Tove Lo

Best Duo/Group of the Year: (New Category)

  • Fall Out Boy
  • Maroon 5
  • One Direction
  • Walk The Moon
  • Zac Brown Band

Album of the Year: (New Category)

  • 1989 – Taylor Swift
  • 25 – Adele
  • Beauty Behind the Madness – The Weeknd
  • In the Lonely Hour – Sam Smith
  • X – Ed Sheeran

Best Tour: (New Category)

  • Foo Fighters
  • Garth Brooks
  • Luke Bryan
  • Taylor Swift
  • U2

Alternative Rock Artist of the Year: (New Category)

  • Foo Fighters
  • Muse
  • Twenty One Pilots
  • X Ambassadors

Alternative Rock Song of the Year:

  • “Cigarette Daydreams” – Cage The Elephant
  • “Ex’s & Oh’s” – Elle King
  • “Renegades” – X Ambassadors
  • “Shut Up and Dance” – Walk The Moon
  • “Stressed Out” – Twenty One Pilots

Rock Artist of the Year: (New Category)

  • Breaking Benjamin
  • Disturbed
  • Five Finger Death Punch
  • Foo Fighters
  • Three Days Grace

Rock Song of the Year: (New Category)

  • “Cut The Cord” – Shinedown
  • “Failure” – Breaking Benjamin
  • “Footsteps” – Pop Evil
  • “Heavy Is The Head” – Zac Brown Band featuring Chris Cornell
  • “I Am Machine” – Three Days Grace

Country Song of the Year:

  • “Buy Me A Boat” – Chris Janson
  • “Homegrown” – Zac Brown Band
  • “I See You” – Luke Bryan
  • “Lose My Mind” – Brett Eldredge
  • “Take Your Time” – Sam Hunt

Country Artist of the Year: (New Category)

  • Blake Shelton
  • Brad Paisley
  • Luke Bryan
  • Sam Hunt
  • Thomas Rhett

Dance Song of the Year:

  • “Hey Mama” – David Guetta featuring Nicki Minaj, Bebe Rexha & Afrojack
  • “Lean On” – Major Lazer & DJ Snake featuring MØ
  • “Waves” – Mr. Probz
  • “Where Are Ü Now?” – Skrillex & Diplo with Justin Bieber
  • “You Know You Like It” – DJ Snake & AlunaGeorge

Dance Artist of the Year: (New Category)

  • Calvin Harris
  • David Guetta
  • Major Lazer
  • Skrillex & Diplo
  • Zedd

Hip Hop Song of the Year: (New Category)

  • “Blessings” – Big Sean featuring Drake & Kanye West
  • “Flex (Ooh, Ooh, Ooh)” – Rich Homie Quan
  • “Hotline Bling” – Drake
  • “Trap Queen” – Fetty Wap
  • “Truffle Butter” – Nicki Minaj featuring Drake & Lil Wayne

Hip Hop Artist of the Year: (New Category)

  • Big Sean
  • Drake
  • Fetty Wap
  • Future
  • J. Cole

R&B Song of the Year: (New Category)

  • “Bitch Better Have My Money” – Rihanna
  • “Earned It” – The Weeknd
  • “Planes” – Jeremih featuring J. Cole
  • “Post To Be” – Omarion featuring Chris Brown & Jhene Aiko
  • “The Hills” – The Weeknd

R&B Artist of the Year: (New Category)

  • Beyoncé
  • Chris Brown
  • The Weeknd
  • Trey Songz
  • Usher

Latin Song of the Year: (New Category)

  • “Ay Vamos” – J Balvin
  • “El Perdón” – Nicky Jam & Enrique Iglesias
  • “Hilito” – Romeo Santos
  • “La Gozadera” – Gente De Zona featuring Marc Anthony
  • “Mi Verdad” – Maná featuring Shakira

Latin Artist of the Year: (New Category)

  • Enrique Iglesias
  • J Balvin
  • Nicky Jam
  • Pitbull
  • Prince Royce

Regional Mexican Song of the Year: (New Category)

  • “Aunque Ahora Estés Con Él” – Calibre 50
  • “Eres Una Niña” – Gerardo Ortiz
  • “Levantando Polvadera” – Voz de Mando
  • “Mi Vicio Más Grande” – Banda El Recodo de Cruz Lizárraga
  • “Te Mestiste” – Ariel Camacho y Los Plebes del Rancho

Regional Mexican Artist of the Year: (New Category)

  • Banda Los Recoditos
  • Calibre 50
  • Gerardo Ortiz
  • Julión Álvarez y Su Norteño Banda
  • Voz De Mando

Best Lyrics: *Socially Voted Category

  • “Die A Happy Man” — Thomas Rhett
  • “Fight Song” — Rachel Platten
  • “Hello” — Adele
  • “Photograph” — Ed Sheeran
  • “See You Again” — Wiz Khalifa featuring Charlie Puth

Best Collaboration: *Socially Voted Category

  • “Bad Blood” – Taylor Swift featuring Kendrick Lamar
  • “Like I’m Gonna Lose You” – Meghan Trainor featuring John Legend
  • “See You Again” – Wiz Khalifa featuring Charlie Puth
  • “Uptown Funk” – Mark Ronson featuring Bruno Mars
  • “Where Are Ü Now?” – Skrillex & Diplo with Justin Bieber

Best Cover Song: (New Category) *Socially Voted Category

  • “1989” (Album in Full) – Ryan Adams covering Taylor Swift
  • “Bad Blood” – Alessia Cara covering Taylor Swift
  • “Bitch Better Have My Money” – Kelly Clarkson covering Rihanna
  • “Cheerleader” – Pentatonix covering Omi
  • “Hands To Myself/Sorry” – Troy Sivan covering Selena Gomez And Justin Bieber
  • “Hello” – Demi Lovato covering Adele
  • “Hotline Bling” – Justin Bieber covering Drake
  • “Hotline Bling” – Sam Smith & Disclosure covering Drake
  • “Trap Queen” – Ed Sheeran covering Fetty Wap
  • “Uptown Funk” – Fifth Harmony, Jasmine V, Jacob Whitesides and Mahogany Lox covering Mark Ronson featuring Bruno Mars

Best Song from a Movie: (New Category) *Socially Voted Category

  • “Earned It” – The Weeknd (50 Shades of Grey)
  • “Love Me Like You Do” – Ellie Goulding (50 Shades of Grey)
  • “See You Again” – Wiz Khalifa featuring Charlie Puth (Furious 7)
  • “Til It Happens To You” – Lady Gaga (The Hunting Ground)
  • “Writing’s On The Wall” – Sam Smith (Spectre)

Most Meme-able Moment: (New Category) *Socially Voted Category

  • Adele and all of the “Hello” memes (Lionel Richie, Miss Piggy, Etc.)
  • Drake and “Hotline Bling”
  • Katy Perry and the Left Shark (from Super Bowl 49)
  • Kanye West and Kanye For President / Kanye 2020
  • Taylor Swift’s “Crazy Girl” with Running Mascara (from “Blank Space” video)

Best Fan Army: *Socially Voted Category

  • 5 Seconds of Summer -­ 5SOSFam
  • Adam Lambert – Glamberts
  • Ariana Grande – Arianators
  • Demi Lovato – Lovatics
  • Fifth Harmony – Harmonizers
  • Justin Bieber – Beliebers
  • Little Mix – Mixers
  • Nicki Minaj – Barbz
  • One Direction – Directioners
  • Selena Gomez – Selenators
  • Shawn Mendes – Mendes Army
  • Taylor Swift – Swifties

As The Inquisitr previously reported, the iHeart Radio Music Awards will be televised live from Los Angeles on April 3 on TBS, TNT, and truTV. The awards show will also be aired on iHeartMedia stations and the iHeartRadio digital music platform. Justin Bieber and Meghan Trainor have both confirmed that they will be performing at the third annual event. Fans can enter to win a free trip to the iHeartRadio Music Awards by going to the official website and entering their information.

[Photo by Eric Reed/ Invision/Associated Press]