River Plate v Boca Juniors – Copa CONMEBOL Libertadores 2018

Watch River Plate Vs. Cruzeiro Live Stream: Copa Libertadores Round Of 16, Start Time, Preview, Watch Online

Jonathan Vankin - Author
By

Jul. 23 2019, Updated 3:30 p.m. ET

The 2019 Copa Libertadores, South America’s most prestigious continental club championship, opens its knockout stage on Tuesday with a series of first-leg matches. Led off by defending champion Club Atlético River Plate of Argentina facing last season’s Brazilian Serie A eighth-place finisher Cruzeiro Esporte Clube, favored four-time Copa Libertadores winners River Plate are already looking ahead to a possible semifinal rematch against Argentine rivals Boca Juniors, according to AS.com, the club they defeated in a thrilling two-legged final last season. But Cruzeiro has also won the South American championship twice, though not since 2009, and are among the favorites to bring the cup back to Brazil, starting with the first-leg knockout round match that will live stream from Buenos Aires.

Article continues below advertisement

To find out how to watch a live stream of the River Plate vs. Cruzeiro Copa Libertadores Round of 16 first-leg match on Tuesday, see the streaming information at the bottom of this article. Kickoff is set for 7:15 p.m. Argentina Time on Tuesday, July 23, at the 66,200-seat Estadio Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti in Buenos Aires, Argentina. In Brazil, the start time will also be 7:15 p.m. Brasilia Time.

In the United Kingdom, the game starts at 11:15 p.m. British Summer Time. In the United States, the live stream gets underway at 6:15 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, or 3:15 p.m. Pacific. In Spain and throughout Central Europe, that start time will be 12:15 a.m. Central European Time on Wednesday, July 24.

Oddsmakers see reigning Brazil Serie A champions Palmeiras as the favorites to take home the Copa Libertadores, according to Oddschecker, at 4-1, with both Cruzeiros and River Plate listed at identical 8-1 odds.

Both teams are dealing with personnel issues heading into the knockout stage match, according to BeIn Sports. For Cruzeiro’s veteran attacking midfielder Thiago Neves, an injury may keep him sidelined for his club’s third game in a row. On the defending champions’ side, defender Milton Casco and Colombian striker Rafael Santos Borré will both be absent from the match due to suspensions.

The Copa Libertadores has been played annually since 1960, with Argentine side Independiente claiming the most titles with seven — though none since 1984. The club did not qualify for this year’s tournament after a seventh-place finish in Argentina’s Superliga. River Plate has won the Copa Libertadores four times.

Advertisement

Latest #metoo News and Updates

    © Copyright 2023 The Inquisitr. The Inquisitr is a registered trademark. All Rights Reserved. People may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website. Offers may be subject to change without notice.