‘Call Of Duty: Infinite Warfare’ Beta Hitting PS4 And Xbox One Only, Sony Gets It First


The Call of Duty XP event kicked off in Anaheim, California, on Friday with several Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare reveals. Perhaps the most immediate interest to PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC fans is when they can get their hands on a beta. Activision and Infinity Ward revealed Sony’s console will get the beta first in October followed by the Xbox One. Meanwhile, PC gamers will be left in the cold.

The beta for Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare will kick off on October 14 for the PS4 and last for a minimum of three days, but only for those who pre-order the game from participating retailers. This will reward individuals with a code that can be redeemed on the game’s official website.

The Xbox One beta will start at some point after the PS4. Activision isn’t saying if it is a day or a week right now. The fine print in the press release provided by the publisher only states “other platforms TBA.” Unfortunately, those other platforms do not include the PC, as the press release confirms Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare beta will only be available on consoles.

Note that the beta will only contain the Infinite Warfare multiplayer. The campaign and Zombies in Spaceland co-op will not be included. The maps, modes, and other details about what will be included in the latest Call of Duty beta will be announced at a later date.

Infinity Ward also debuted the game’s multiplayer via two different trailers. The first straight reveal trailer (at the top of this article) showed gameplay while the second one (below) is a more in-depth overview that introduces the new features in the latest Call of Duty shooter.

The Infinite Warfare multiplayer is sticking with the class-based system introduced in Black Ops 3 by going with what Infinity Ward calls a Combat Rigs system. There are six Combat Rigs in all that come with three Payloads and three Traits for each.

Here are the six Combat Rigs and their abilities.


Call of Duty: infinite Warfare - FTL Combat Rig (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
[Image via Activision]

  • Erasers
  • FTL Jump
  • Phase Shift


  • Supercharge
  • Perception
  • Power-slide


Call of Duty: infinite Warfare - MERC Combat Rig (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
[Image via Activision]


  • Steel Dragon
  • Bull Charge
  • Reactive Armor


  • Infusion
  • Man-At-Arms
  • Shock Wave


Call of Duty: infinite Warfare - Warfighter Combat Rig (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
[Image via Activision]


  • The Claw
  • Overdrive
  • Combat Focus


  • Ping
  • Persistance
  • Resupply


Call of Duty: infinite Warfare - Stryker Combat Rig (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
[Image via Activision]


  • Gravity Vortex
  • Micro Turret
  • Centurion


  • Relay
  • Trophy Drone
  • Hardened


Call of Duty: infinite Warfare - Phantom Combat Rig (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
[Image via Activision]


  • Ballista EM3
  • Active Camo
  • Pulsar


  • Marked Target
  • Rearguard
  • Heightened Senses


Call of Duty: infinite Warfare - Synaptic Combat Rig (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
[Image via Activision]


  • Qualizer
  • Reaper
  • Rewind


  • Rushdown
  • Propulsion
  • Combat Burst

While this is very similar to Black Ops 3, Infinity Ward will give Infinite Warfare players the opportunity to switch between Combat Rigs when respawning to change the flow of a match.

Naturally, there are plenty of new weapons added to Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare. Infinity Ward has added weapon crafting to create variants of base weapons. All weapons in the game, including secondary weapons, will have the ability to craft Common, Rare, Legendary, or Epic variants.

These weapon variants add new abilities to the weapon, along with new camo options, and new perks. An example is a Sniper Rifle’s epic variant granting perks to help with long range shots.

Call of Duty: Infinite Warfare (PS4, Xbox One, PC)
[Image via Activision]

Weapons are created from Salvage, the new in-game currency. So far, this is only earned through playing the game, but it’s likely to support a micro-transaction system later based on past Call of Duty titles.

As for modes, expected multiplayer game types such as Team Deathmatch, Domination, Search and Rescue, Search, and Destroy are returning. They will be joined by Drop Zone, Infected, Uplink, Grind, Gun Game, Hardpoint, and an all-new mode called Defender.

Defender is essentially a game of keep away where a team must hold on to a ball-like drone. The drone spawns in the center of the map and teams battle to grab it. A one-minute countdown timer starts when a team picks up the drone and points are earned while it is being held. The drone can be passed around from teammate to teammate, but it resets to its spawn point once the countdown is finished.

There is also another new mode called Frontline. Infinity Ward has not shared details on it yet.

[Image via Activision]