‘The Hobbit’ Trilogy Gets Release Schedule, New Titles

It’s been a big month for fans of Peter Jackson and J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit. The award-winning director announced earlier this month that he’d be splitting up the story into three movies and now Warner Bros. Pictures and Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Pictures have announced that all three films have titles and release dates.

The third film, which will called The Hobbit: There and Back Again will hit theaters on July 18, 2014. According to the Huffington Post, the second film in the trilogy was originally called There and Back Again. The second film will now be called The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug.

Here are the titles and the release dates for all three movies in The Hobbit trilogy.

  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey: Dec. 14, 2012.
  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug: Dec. 13, 2013.
  • The Hobbit: There and Back Again: July 18, 2014.

Jackson was originally planning on filming two new movies to tell the story of The Hobbit but announced earlier this month that there was too much material to squeeze into two films.

Jackson said:

“Recently Fran, Phil and I … watched for the first time an early cut of the first movie – and a large chunk of the second. We were really pleased with the way the story was coming together, in particular, the strength of the characters and the cast who have brought them to life. All of which gave rise to a simple question: do we take this chance to tell more of the tale? And the answer from our perspective as the filmmakers, and as fans, was an unreserved ‘yes.’ It has been an unexpected journey indeed, and in the words of Professor Tolkien himself, ‘a tale that grew in the telling.’ So Without further ado and on behalf of New Line Cinema, Warner Bros. Pictures, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Wingnut Films, and the entire cast and crew of “The Hobbit” films, I’d like to announce that two films will become three.”

Are you excited to see The Hobbit?