Adele’s ’25’ Make-Up Album: Will It Beat Taylor Swift’s Breakup Album?

Adele is set to break records with her new album. After spending four years out of the spotlight, the singer and songwriter is finally ready to release some new music.

In a rush of news, Adele created an Instagram account to promote her new single, “Hello,” and her upcoming album, 25. She revealed to her fans that the new release will drop on November 20. Adele’s fans will get to hear her new song, “Hello,” in her new music video directed by Canadian director Xavier Dolan on Friday, October 23.

When it comes to Adele’s new album, don’t look for songs about breakups or unrequited love. In fact, the singer said an emotional open-letter to her fans saying that her new album is more of a “make-up” album rather than a “breakup” album. Life has changed now that the jazzy singer is both taken and a mom.

“My last record was a break-up record and if I had to label this one, I would call it a make-up record. Making up for lost time. Making up for everything I ever did and never did. Turning 25 was a turning point for me, slap bang in the middle of my twenties. Teetering on the edge of being an old adolescent and a fully-fledged adult.”

Adele even released the full tracklist for 25 on her social media accounts.

  1. “Hello”
  2. “Send My Love (To Your New Lover)”
  3. “I Miss You”
  4. “When We Were Young”
  5. “Remedy”
  6. “Water Under the Bridge”
  7. “River Lea”
  8. “Love in the Dark”
  9. “Million Years Ago”
  10. “All I Ask”
  11. “Sweetest Devotion”

In addition, Adele’s first single, “Hello,” will be available for purchase on October 23 as well. Earlier this month, the singer surprised fans by sharing a preview of “Hello” in a commercial that played during The X-Factor U.K. The 30-second TV ad featured a clip of her new song and showed the lyrics across a black screen.

The lyrics read, “Hello, it’s me. I was wondering if after all these years you’d like to meet / To go over everything / They say that times supposed to heal ya / But I ain’t done much healing.”

The song was rumored to be about the songstress addressing her relationship with her estranged father, although that was never confirmed.

Now that the details about Adele’s new song and album have come out, some are wondering if her make-up album will beat Taylor Swift’s latest breakup record. The “Rolling in the Deep” singer is already taking a cue from Swift by withholding her new album on Spotify. Back in 2011, Adele withheld her last album, 21, for over 18 months since Spotify refused to restrict the release to its paying customers.

Sources close to Adele told Digital News that the issues with releasing her new album on Spotify is “still questionable.”

“[Adele] wants some assurance that the release will be gated. It’s still questionable.”

Now, it looks like Taylor Swift’s chances of pulling an Adele with her album sales could already be crushed, since the crooner is making her comeback in a big way. Taylor’s smash-selling release, 1989, may repeat last year’s sales. As of January, it has already sold over 2 million units in addition to the 3.6 million she sold in 2014, according to Nielsen Music.

Taylor Swift
(Photo by Jason Merritt/Getty Images)

Swift could have matched Adele’s sales of 21, which became the best-selling album of 2011 and 2012. But now that the British singer is set to release 25, it could very well break its own records by the end of the year. Back in September, the music gossip site Hits Daily Double said that Adele’s latest release could quickly become another smash success. In addition, Adele has signed a deal with NBC “for four big TV looks” during her album’s release, including special appearances on NBC’s Today Show and Saturday Night Live, including a prime-time special around the holiday season.

(Photo by Jason Merritt/Getty Images)

Adele took a much deserve break after the success of her 21 album. Released in 2011, it went on to sell over 11 million copies in the U.S. She came out of hiding to record “Skyfall” for the 2012 James Bond movie of the same name. The hit song won Adele an Academy Award for Best Original Song in 2013.

Adele laughing
(Credit: Giphy)

UPDATE: Adele leaked the full video for “Hello” on Vimeo at 11:30 p.m. PST/2:30 a.m. EST. The heart touching video not only features shots of the singer but also stars actor/rapper Tristan Wilds (aka Mack Wilds). It’s expected to make its debut on YouTube/VEVO later Friday.

Hello from Adele on Vimeo.

What are your thoughts on Adele’s 25 album? Are you looking forward to more music from the singer? Do you think Adele will break Taylor Swift’s album records? Share your thoughts below in the comments section.

[Photos by Jason Merritt, Pascal Le Segretain / Getty Images]

Share this article: Adele’s ’25’ Make-Up Album: Will It Beat Taylor Swift’s Breakup Album?
More from Inquisitr