Bonnie Raitt Releasing First Album in 7 Years This April

Bonnie Raitt will be releasing her first album in 7-years this April.

Raitt said that after her 2005 album, “Souls Alike,” she was ready to take a break.

Raitt said:

“I hadn’t stopped moving in a very long time so I really wanted to take a total break and not concentrate on making a new record or what I was going to do next. So that was really valuable because I waited until I was really ready to come back.”

The new album, called “Slipstream, will also be Raitt’s first release on her own record label, Redwing Records. The 62-year-old singer has already recorded the 12-track album. The Washington Post reports that four of the songs were recorded with Joe Henry and his musicians, while the rest of the album was recorded with her touring band.

Raitt covers Bob Dylan’s “Million Miles” and Loudon Wainwright III’s “You Can’t Fail Me Now” on the new album.

Here’s the full track listing.

  • Used to Rule the World
  • Right Down the Line
  • Million Miles
  • You Can’t Fail Me Now
  • Down To You
  • Take My Love With You
  • Not Cause I Wanted To
  • Ain’t Gonna Let You Go
  • Marriage Made in Hollywood
  • Split Decision
  • Standing in the Doorway
  • God Only

Raitt said:

“It’s just a new batch of great songs.”

Raitt’s new album is currently available for pre-order.

Here’s a video of Bonnie Raitt performing “I Will Not Be Broken” from her 2005 release, “Souls Alike.”

Are you a fan of Bonnie Raitt? Are you looking forward to her new album?

Share this article: Bonnie Raitt Releasing First Album in 7 Years This April
More from Inquisitr