‘Destiny’ Future Expansions Leaked? ‘Comet: Plague Of Darkness’ And ‘House Of Wolves’ Dated

Scott Grill - Author

Jan. 2 2015, Updated 7:25 a.m. ET

Destiny has the House of Wolves expansion planned for some time in 2015. We may know when that is coming now along with future content for the PlayStation and Xbox game thanks to a leaked image that emerged Friday. All hints are that this will essentially be Destiny 1.5 versus a true sequel to the game.

The leaked image was originally posted to an Italian Bungie forum before being posted on the official English Bungie forums and then picked up by Reddit. It shows that the House of Wolves expansion is currently scheduled to be released on March 10. Then, an even larger piece of DLC titled Comet: Plague of Darkness is set to come in September 2015 with two expansions to it.

Article continues below advertisement

If you look at the image, you’ll notice The Darkness Below and House of Wolves are listed as “EP1″ and EP2.” The House of Wolves content was previously leaked, as reported by the Inquisitr. Meanwhile, Comet: Plague of Darkness is made to look like a retail release with two expansions. This is what has led to Comet being called Destiny1.5 by some since it appears to be a larger expansion that is close to the size of a full retail release.

According to the image, Comet: Plague of Darkness will include a Hive ship as a new location and add a new sub-class to each of three main classes as well as two new weapon types that start at level 30. It looks like it will be centered around the Hive with new activities on the Moon, Venus, and Mars. It also includes new Crucible multiplayer maps.

Here’s a rundown of what it includes

  • Story Missions: 12
  • Strikes: 4
  • Public Events: 1
  • Patrols: 1
  • Raids: 1
  • PvP maps: 6

That’s significantly more than the recent release of The Dark Below expansion, which came with only three story missions, two strikes, one raid, and three PvP maps. The House of Wolves expansion looks to be on the same level with three missions, one strike, one raid, and four PvP maps currently listed.

The two expansions for Comet: Plague of Darkness are titled Vex Void (or Vex TBD) and Forge of Gods. The Vex expansion for Destiny doesn’t have a name yet but the image does show it takes place on Venus and Mars with three new story missions, two new strikes, one raid, and an unknown number of Crucible maps.

Article continues below advertisement

Meanwhile, the Forge of Gods expansion is pretty well undefined at this point. That’s understandable though considering this image comes from an October closed door meeting. If Comet: Plague of Darkness is releasing September 2015 for Destiny, then Vex Void likely won’t hit until December 2015 followed by Forge of Gods in March 2015, if Bungie follows the same schedule for the original Destiny release.

We should also consider these dates as tentative for now. They could easily slip as Bungie has shown that is still learning from player feedback in Destiny on what works and what doesn’t.

Still, this information lines up with the Bungie and Activision contract that was exposed as part of a lawsuit. The original contract (via Los Angeles Times) called for four Destiny titles to be released over the course of 10 years with each receiving a “Comet” release and accompanying DLC.

This appears to setup full Destiny releases every two years with DLC and Comet expansions filling up the time in-between. That means Destiny2 will likely come in 2016. The good news is that Bungie is already stating that player characters will carry over.

What do you think of think of the content plans for Destiny? Sound off in the comments below.

[Images via Reddit, Bungie]


Latest bungie News and Updates

    © Copyright 2023 The Inquisitr. The Inquisitr is a registered trademark. All Rights Reserved. People may receive compensation for some links to products and services on this website. Offers may be subject to change without notice.