Selena Gomez’s ‘Heart’ Rockets On Billboard’s Hot 100 To No. 6 For Second Top 10 Hit

Selena Gomez has soared into the Top 10 on moving up to No. 6 with her emotive Justin Bieber-inspired single “The Heart Wants What It Wants,” following its debut at No. 25 on the same chart four weeks ago.

The former sweethearts dated on and off from 2010 to 2014. They reportedly split up in late September/early October.

The 22-year-old’s dramatic rise on the chart with “Heart” marks her second Top 10 hit.

Back in 2013, “Come & Get It,” taken from her Stars Dance album, also reached No. 6 where it peaked.

“The Heart Wants What It Wants” is the lead single on Selena’s Greatest Hits For You compilation, which dropped the day after she performed the song at the 2014 American Music Awards on November 23. Idolator’s review of the album can be viewed here.

Following the single’s release with an accompanying video — which featured a revealing spoken intro by Selena, in which she talked about experiencing “pain” during her romance with Justin — it logged over 106,000 downloads and a No. 6 position on the Digital Songs Chart, a No.2 peak (so far) on iTunes US Songs chart, and several high spots on iTunes charts in multiple territories.

Selena’s standout appearance at the AMAs saw the pop princess deliver a transcendent performance alone on stage, backed by a montage of evocative images on a giant screen, also boosted “The Heart Wants What It Wants” chart activity.

In addition to the Latina’s Hot 100 surge, Billboard reports the song earned, “Top Digital and Streaming Gainer kudos, vaulting 19-5 on Streaming Songs (9.2 million, up 75 percent) and 11-5 on Digital Songs (136,000, up 98 percent). It also debuts on Radio Songs at No. 42 (29 million, up 39 percent).”

Gomez’s pal, Taylor Swift, remains atop Billboard’s Hot 100 chart with “Blank Space” after three weeks at number one.

In other Selena news, the Disney alum revealed on Monday that she is back recording in the studio for the next four months to work on her next album, slated for a 2015 release on Interscope Records after leaving Disney’s Hollywood Records earlier this year.

To mark her announcement, the actress-singer posted a pic of herself close up to a mic, with the caption, “What the next 4 months will look like — Even in my hotel rooms. You guys, I’m beyond excited for what’s next. #2015.”

In pre-AMAs interviews, the starlet revealed her musical direction from this point on would take the Rock Mafia “Heart” single as a “bookmark,” or reference point.

Speaking to Gillian and HaZe with 98.7 Amp Detroit, she explained how psyched she was about her next album out of all her projects.

Elaborating, Selena said, “It’s exciting for me to start off with something like the ‘Heart’ and then start leading into writing about all the other things that are going on in my life — and have gone on in the past year or so.”

“I’m excited to put more of my heart and soul into the next chapter of music,” she added at the time.

This week’s Billboard Hot 100 top 10:

1. “Blank Space” — Taylor Swift
2. “All About That Bass” — Meghan Trainor
3. “Take Me To Church” — Hozier
4. “Shake It Off” — Taylor Swift
5. Animals — Maroon 5
6. “The Heart Wants What It Wants” — Selena Gomez
7. “I’m Not The Only One” — Sam Smith
8. “Uptown Funk” — Mark Ronson feat. Bruno Mars
9. “Habits (Stay High)” — Tove Lo
10. “Love Me Harder” — Ariana Grande feat. The Weeknd

Selena Gomez AMAs
(Photo: Selena Gomez mesmerized the 2014 American Music Awards show audience with a sorrowful performance)

[Images via Getty Images/Instagram]