Cadel Evans Becomes First Australian To Win Tour de France

Cadel Evans captured the top prize at this years Tour de France, making the 34-year-old cyclist the first Australian to capture the events first place trophy after crossing the line at the Champs-Elysee during the ceremonial final stage, ceremonial largely because he had all but secured his win during the Grenoble time trials the day prior.

The final stage, number 21 in the event was captured by Britain’s Mark Cavendish, the third year in a row he has taken the top sprinter prize, even after having to change his bike on the Champs-Elysees.

The race was a close one this year with at least seven riders still in competition for the top prize while entering the final week of riding.

Evans nearly lost the race’s overall top rider prize when Andy Schleck took a large lead at Galibier pass, managing to rebound with a much stronger time-trial than Schleck during yesterdays leg of the race.

Andy Schleck of Luxembourg finished second overall, his third straight year in the second spot, while his bother Frank Schleck finished in third.

At 32-years-old Evans becomes the oldest winner at the Tour de France since 1922.

Share this article: Cadel Evans Becomes First Australian To Win Tour de France
More from Inquisitr