Quarterback Len Dawson and Coach Hank Stram

Kansas City Chiefs Hall Of Famer To Receive Lamar Hunt Award

Quarterback Len Dawson played his last thirteen NFL seasons with the Kansas City Chiefs. Dawson’s career spanned nineteen seasons from 1957 to 1975 and is considered one of the best forward passers of all time. Len Dawson’s was a seven-time Pro Bowl selection and led the Dallas Texans-Kansas City Chiefs franchise to three American Football League championships and two Super Bowls.

According to Pro Football Hall Of Fame, “He is perhaps best remembered for his courageous performance in leading the Chiefs to a 23-7 upset of the Minnesota Vikings in Super Bowl IV. Dawson connected on 12 of 17 passes for 142 yards in the now-historic game, and his 46-yard pass completion to Otis Taylor wrapped up the surprise victory that evened the AFL-NFL portion of the Super Bowl series at two wins each. Dawson was named the game’s Most Valuable Player.”

On Saturday March, 1st Len Dawson will receive the Lamar Hunt trophy. The award was created in 2007 to honor the legacy of Lamar Hunt, founder of the Kansas City Chiefs. The award is given each year to an person or organization that has contributed to the growth of the NFL as the dominant pro sports league in America.

According to KCChiefs.com, Kansas City Chiefs Chairman and CEO Clark Hunt noted, “Words can’t express how grateful we are to Len for his contributions to the Kansas City Chiefs, the community and the game of football. Hank Stram may have said it best when he said ‘greatness is measured by the test of time, and Lenny passed that test with flying colors.”

Kansascity.com reports that Hunt went to say this about the former Kansas City Quarterback, “He was an incredible leader in the huddle and an innovator off the field. His passion and knowledge for the game has led to an incredible broadcast career that Chiefs fans have enjoyed for more than three decades, and we are delighted to honor him with the Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football.”

Len Dawson will be honored this weekend in Kansas City at a black tie affair along with six other award recipients included in the following list posted by The 101 Awards official website:

  • NFC Offensive Player – RB LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia Eagles
  • AFC Offensive Player – QB Peyton Manning, Denver Broncos
  • NFC Defensive Player – LB Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers
  • AFC Defensive Player – LB Robert Mathis, Indianapolis Colts
  • NFC Coach – Ron Rivera, Carolina Panthers
  • AFC Coach – Andy Reid, Kansas City Chiefs

With current Kansas City Chiefs head coach, Andy Reid, also receiving an award at the same ceremony Kansas City has a lot to be proud of.