Tuesday
Tech : Duncan RileyWhy Has Keith Teare Gone Into Spam Blogging? Seriously Dumb
Former Edgeio CEO Keith Teare has gone into the spam blogging business with new blogs that are republishing full content from most leading web 2.0 blogs (and at the time of writing The Inquisitr as well).
The blog at seriouslytech.com (no hard links from me) republishes content in full from the following sites: All Things D, arstechnica, BoomTown, Carnage4Life, Futuristic Play, Jemima Kiss, Lifehacker, Louis Gray, Mashable, Om Malik, readwriteweb, Robert Scoble, Ryan Spoon, TechCrunch, Techdirt and The Inquisitr. There are also other sites ripping even more content as well: seriouslymedia.com, seriouslymac.com, seriouslypolitics.com and seriouslywallstreet.com.
Until yesterday the SeriouslyTech site republished posts with no link back to the original site, and it was only after I mentioned this privately were links implemented to the sites featured, but even then it was only links to Feedburner feed entries, not the site itself. Notably linking to a site doesn’t grant full reprint rights to a blog despite what some in the spam blogging community like to claim.
Teare has explained to me privately the current status of the “project” and what it aims to achieve, but asked that the whole discussion remain off the record, so I cant actually print his defense (not that there could ever be a strong defense for splogging). This is not a Feedreading product like Feedly or a meme service like Onespot: at the moment it’s a WordPress blog ripping content from other people without permission and not even giving due credit back. It’s a number of blogs that are being fed into FriendFeed, that offer commenting on other people’s full content, and even goes as far as offering buttons for the splog entries to be submitted to social voting sites.
I’ve met Keith before and he’s always struck me as being a smart guy, so who ever convinced him that doing this is a good thing (he’s not doing this alone, but it’s all in his name) needs to be quickly purged. I’m sorry Keith, but I’ve gone after companies and people for far less than this (Shyftr comes to mind). What ever this site aims to be in the future, it needs to die now before you start getting the lawyer letters from the very annoyed people you are currently stealing from.
If you're new here, you may want to subscribe to our RSS feed or follow us on Twitter. Thanks for visiting!

Add New Comment
Viewing 25 Comments
Thanks. Your comment is awaiting approval by a moderator.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
I think I explained privately sufficiently for you to know that EVERYTHING in this article is not true.
As you know seriously is an old - highly experimental - project that I was responsible for initiating. It remains HIGHLY experimental in investigating the concept of vertical aggregation for passion driven niche subjects.
Secondly, I ceased to be involved in it day-to-day some time ago. It is run by several people whom I trust to understand the difference between a splog and a serious product. seriously is NOT a serious product at this stage.
I think your post is designed to be a sensationalist link catcher, traffic bait, and not a serious post.
You recall that I said I'd be happy to ask the team to remove any blog - yours included - that didn't want to be part of the experiment.
You've really gone down in my estimation with this silly post.
Keith
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
feel free to continue spinning it which ever way you want, but ultimately you are republishing the full text of other blogs without permission. It's an experiment that includes you promoting other peoples content on this site via FF and seemingly via social sites as well. That Keith is called splogging, and it's something I've been writing about and covering since 2003 so I'm fairly well qualified in placing the label :-)
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
If there is truly a business or tech model beneath this then I would think the creators/authors of such sites would want to clear the air as much as possible before a recovery to a legit standing is impossible.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Duncan should have never ever PRIVATELY asked you to remove his blog, his job is to support the publics interest and by doing so support his site. Asking you privately for a back-channel solution would make his actions just as unethical as your experiment.
Yes I think Keith your project is unethical!
Also for the record your projects status as 'experimental' doesn't instantly relieve you of any ethical standards.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
You are definitely spamming and reusing my stuff and your reputation has gone way down. Duncan might not have gotten all the little details right, but he's absolutely right that what you are doing is nasty and is not welcomed by me.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
good point. It's one thing to steal the content (which is wrong) but to take it to the next level like this site has. I'm just disappointed it's Keith involved. I'm sure someone is giving him bad advice.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
What about Twitter sploggers?
Check this one out: http://twitter.com/DigitalMoves
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
If only have 3 years working hard and slogging away on my own (mostly) at TechWinter I could have a small portion of your montly audience... Please sir :)
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
I replied to your comment on the youtube article.
FWIW, seriously sites are not splogs. There is no advertising or any attempt to monetize, there is clear attribution, the links all point to the original, the content is limited to what is in the rss feed. And anybody can opt out via email. For the record Duncan never asked me to take his content off - privately or otherwise. I have however done so after this blatant attempt to create interest in his blog amidst a fake controversy.
If anything ever comes from the seriously project (I'm not on the team) it will be very different to what is on the site today. But what is there today is not a splog.
Final point. I was very responsive to Duncan's emails earlier yesterday (which I will keep private), and in mid discussion he posted this idiotic piece. I'll admit, I was taken aback, and angry. So I counted to ten. Now 24 hours later, I just think he is wrong. Anybody who knows me - and Duncan does a little - would know I do not have a bad intention in my personality. It kinda sucks.
On a bigger point - distribution of content is central to any media. Attribution and reward are of course key (no disagreement from me). Duncan seems to think the very act of aggregation is a sin. Reminds me of a lot of bad actors seeking to preserve out-of-date models.
But maybe thats just me.....
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Keith
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.