Xbox Gamescom 2014

Microsoft Confirms Xbox One Titles For Gamescom, Backwards Compatibility Possibly Teased

Micosoft released a teaser Saturday evening for what it will have on display at Gamescom 2014. The tease itself uses letters from the game art to spell out “Xbox @ Gamescom 14.” Most of the games are not particularly surprising, but the artwork for the second “x” should raise some eyebrows.

Breaking it down quickly, the artwork used in the “Xbox @ Gamecom 14” message is for the following:

  • Xbox One logo
  • Scalebound
  • Halo: The Master Chief Collection
  • The original Xbox logo
  • ID@Xbox logo
  • Dragon Age: Inquisition
  • Fable Legends
  • The Witcher III: Wild Hunt (The “III” is an upside down “W”)
  • Evolved
  • Sunset Overdrive
  • Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare
  • Ori and the Blind Forest
  • Quantum Break
  • FIFA 15
  • Far Cry 4

Again, none of the games are particularly surprising as these have been announced before and it was expected that Microsoft will primarily feature games that are coming soon at Gamescom. Scalebound, and Fable Legends are the two games that will likely be released the latest out of the group with late 2015 release dates at the earliest. Quantum Break is coming sometime in 2015 as well, but Remedy already announced that it was skipping E3 to debut gameplay at Gamescom.

Forza Horizon 2 and other upcoming titles shown in a recent teaser trailer aren’t listed, so it’s possible we’ll see even more during Microsoft’s Gamescom presentation.

However, the original Xbox logo is a curious thing to include. Is Microsoft signaling a possible backward compatibility announcement with the console?

It’s not as far-fetched as you might think since the original Xbox features a processor using an x86 architecture just like the Xbox One. The older console does use 32-bit versus the 64-bit for the Xbox One, and the new console features some specialized hardware not present before. However, it should be easier to port Xbox games to the Xbox One than it was to the Xbox 360 because the architectures are much more similar.

Original Xbox Logo
The original Xbox logo.

The Xbox One needs a big boost in Europe, and Gamescom is its best shot for this year. There are already rumors of a white console plus a possible price drop to help spur sales. Having plenty of compelling content will be important as well to help in the console war against Sony’s Playstation 4.

Gamescom 2014 is taking place in Cologne, Germany from Monday, August 11 through Friday, August 15. Things will kick off that Monday at 1 pm EST (18:00 BST / 19:00 CEST) with the world premiere of the Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare multiplayer. Expect a heavy Xbox One presence there due to Activision’s and Microsoft’s long-running partnership with the series.

Microsoft’s Gamescom 2014 Xbox briefing will follow on Tuesday at 8 am EST (13:00 BST / 14:00 CEST). Both events will be livestreamed on Xbox LIVE for the Xbox One and Xbox 360, Xbox.com, and Windows Phone. The Xbox Twitch channel will also be livestreaming the events as well as post-presentation events all through the week.

What do you think about the games teased for Microsoft’s Gamescom briefing? Is this a hint that backwards compatibility is coming? Sound off in the comments below.

[Images via Microsoft]

Comments