ITV plc

The X-Factor is an American television show created by Simon Cowell. It is based on the British show of the same name. The X-Factor is a singing competition in which the winner is determined by viewers telephoning in to vote for a particular competitor. The winner receives a contract with Cowell’s record label, Syco Music. It first premiered in 2011 and aired for three seasons. The original X-Factor judges included Simon Cowell, Paula Abdul, Cheryl Cole, and L.A. Reid. During the show, the judges mentored singers, who were split into categories. Melanie Amaro won the first season of The X-Factor, with Tate Stevens winning in the second season and Alex and Sierra winning in the third and final season.