Real Housewives is a franchise of reality television shows that follows the lives of wealthy women in several American locations. There are six shows in the Real Housewives franchise, all of which air on the Bravo network. The reality-based shows are constantly followed by the tabloids as the featured women live their professional and family lives. The first show in the Real Housewives franchise was The Real Housewives of Orange County, which premiered in 2006. It quickly became one of the most popular shows on the Bravo network. Since the franchise premiere, several cast members have had run-ins with the law as well as financial problems. There are several spinoffs outside the United States, including series based in Athens, Israel, Australia, France, Britain, and Canada.