Copyright New England Patriots 

The New England Patriots are a National Football League American football franchise based in Massachusetts. An original member of the American Football League, the Patriots played their first game in 1960 as the Boston Patriots, joining the NFL when the two leagues merged in 1970. The Patriots played in several stadiums around the Boston area until moving to their own stadium in the suburb of Foxborough, Massachusetts, in 1971, changing their name at that time to the New England Patriots. After many seasons without success on the field, the Patriots appeared in their first Super Bowl in the 1985 season and won the Super Bowl in 2001. As of 2015, the Patriots have won four Super Bowls in eight appearances.