The Los Angeles Lakers are an NBA franchise known as one of the most successful and popular in the league’s history. The Lakers relocated from Minneapolis, keeping the Lakers name despite a lack of lakes in Southern California. The Lakers have won a total of 16 NBA titles, second only to the Boston Celtics with 17, and fielded a number of memorable teams. In the 1980s, the team was led by Magic Johnson and had some notable clashes with the Celtics and their star, Larry Bird. The Lakers had another dynasty in the 2000s. Led by Shaquille O’Neal and Kobe Bryant, the Lakers won five times between 2000 and 2009.