The Green Bay Packers of Green Bay, Wisconsin, are an American football team in the National Football League (NFL). Founded in 1919 by Earl Lambeau and George Whitney Calhoun, the club took its name from the Indian Packing Company due to its generous donation of $500 for equipment and uniforms for that inaugural season. While only the third oldest team in the NFL, it has played in its home city longer than any other team. The Green Bay Packers have made the playoffs 30 times in their 96-year history, starting in 1936. They have 13 championships to their credit, including two during the AFL-NFL exchange and two post-merger (the so-called “Super Bowl era”).