The Chicago Bears, widely referred to as the “Monsters of the Midway,” first played under their most popular namesake in 1922. The team’s actual history predates that by about three years. In 1919, the A.E. Staley food starch company established what would become the Chicago Bears in Decatur, Illinois, under the moniker the Decatur Staleys. After a move to Chicago and a brief run as the Chicago Staleys, they adopted “Bears” the following season. While the Chicago Bears have only won one championship in the Super Bowl era — 1986 (1985 team) — they remain one of the most successful professional football organizations of all time, amassing a total of nine NFL championships in team history.