The latest Facebook privacy news is bad for users, who will wake up to discover a profile search setting might be removed.
As previously reported by The Inquisitr, some felt Facebook privacy was hurt by changes to the facial recognition technology built into the FB photos system this year.
But FB users who desire anonymity are more likely to be upset by the Facebook privacy news that came out recently. Facebook is reportedly finalizing plans to remove the “Who can look up your Timeline by name?” security setting.
What does this Facebook privacy update mean? This security setting allowed users to choose a list of people who were allowed to see their name in search results on Facebook. The most secure setting would keep you completely anymynous except when you added friends manually. Now, however, Facebook privacy will be a thing of the past since anyone can find you via search engines.
Facebook is defending their decisions to remove the Facebook privacy setting:
“[The Facebook privacy setting] made Facebook’s search feature feel broken at times. For example, people told us that they found it confusing when they tried looking for someone who they knew personally and couldn’t find them in search results, or when two people were in a Facebook Group and then couldn’t find each other through search.”
Facebook plans on warning all users before removing it completely. But at the same time they plan on displaying a reminder notice whenever users are sharing something publicly.
Do you consider this Facebook privacy news bad or is it a security setting you don’t care about?