Vinnie Catricala just made history. The 24-year-old third baseman just became a victim of the one pitch strikeout.
And before you ask: Yes, that’s possible. There is such thing as a one pitch strikeout.
Catricala, who is currently playing in the Texas League with the Midland RockHounds, was at the plate facing pitcher Nick Tropeano. Tropeano threw one pitch, which was called a strike, and then stood on the mound as Catricala took care of the next two strikes my himself.
Catricala was upset with the first call and stepped out of the box to collect his thoughts. He fixed his gloves, he daydreamed a little bit, he thought about if he would ever make it back to the major leagues, and four seconds later the umpire called a second strike.
Five seconds after that, the umpire called the third strike and told Vinnie to get off the field.
In case you need an official explanation, here’s Rule 6.02:
Rule 6.02 (c) If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out.
CrawFixBoxes says that it took 9.4 seconds for Catricala to earn his third strike. Rule 6.02 states that an umpire must give a player a “reasonable” amount of time to get into the batter’s box.
Do you think umpire Ron Teague jumped the gun or did Vinnie Catricala deserve his one pitch strikeout?