NHL Names New Divisions, Releases 2013-14 Schedule

The NHL will have a few new divisions next season.

The league released the 2013-14 schedule today and announced the names of its four new divisions. The NHL will be divided into the Atlantic, Central, Pacific and Metropolitan divisions next year.

The Toledo Blade notes that the Eastern Conference (made up of the Metropolitan and Atlantic divisions) will consist of two sets of 7 teams teams. The Western Conference (made up of the Central and Pacific Divisions) will consist of two sets of 8 teams.

Eastern Conference Atlantic Division: Boston, Buffalo, Detroit, Florida, Montreal, Ottawa, Tampa Bay, Toronto

Eastern Conference Metropolitan Division: Carolina, Columbus, New Jersey, New York Islanders, New York Rangers, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia, Washington

Western Conference Central Division: Chicago, Colorado, Dallas, Minnesota, St. Louis, Nashville, Winnipeg

Western Conference Pacific Division: Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Jose, Vancouver

The NHL also released the schedule for the 2013-14 season. You can see the complete schedule at NHL.com but here are some of the most important details.

  • Every team will travel to every NHL city at least once.
  • The Winter Classic will feature the Maple Leafs and Red Wings on New Year’s Day at Michigan Stadium
  • There will be six outdoor games this year, including a game between the Blackhawks and the Penguins at Soldier Field.
  • The NHL will halt play February 9-26 for the Sochi Winter Olympic Games.

And of course, the most important date of all. The puck drops on October 1.