‘Big Brother 22’ Spoilers: America’s Favorite Houseguest Makes ‘BB’ History

The cast of Big Brother 22

Warning: This article reveals America’s Favorite Houseguest and the winner of Big Brother All-Stars.

Season 22 of Big Brother is finally complete, with a houseguest being granted the grand prize of $500,000. Cody Calafiore took home the victory on All-Stars, beating out Enzo Palumbo, who went home with $50,000 of his own. Cody nabbed the final Head of Household (HOH) of the season and made the difficult decision to cut Nicole Franzel, which upset the three-time player beyond belief. After a long line of questioning, the nine jurors unanimously voted for Cody, only the second time in the show’s history where a winner won by a vote of 9-0.

History was made as Cody was drenched in confetti after host Julie Chen revealed who the recipient of America’s Favorite Houseguest (AFH) was. Each year the viewers get to vote on their favorite player of the game, no matter when they were evicted. Julie revealed that the two players with the highest amount of votes were Tyler Crispen and Da’Vonne Rogers. Da’Vonne was eventually announced as America’s Favorite Houseguest, earning her $25,000 of her own. Julie noted that there were over one million votes cast for Da’Vonne, which catapulted her to victory.

The news of her victory moved her to tears, as Da’Vonne was clearly not expecting to win the fan-favorite award.

Da'Vonne Rogers gives a speech in the Big Brother house

When asked how she was going to spend her money, Da’Vonne could only say that she just wanted to get home to her daughter. The mother’s achievement marks the first time an African American houseguest has won the title of America’s Favorite Houseguest.

The prize originated on BB7 and reappeared on BB9 and BB10, where it was known as the America’s Choice Jury Prize and was limited to only jurors. On BB11, all houseguests became eligible to win the $25,000, but there had never been an African American recipient until tonight. Several of the roommates on Big Brother All-Stars have either won America’s Favorite Houseguest before or were the runner up.

Janelle Pierzina nabbed the $25K the first time it was introduced on BB7, and she was also in contention for winning it this summer on All-Stars. This year’s first boot, Keesha Smith, earned the cash on BB10, as did Tyler Crispen on BB20 and Nicole Anthony on BB21. This season’s All-Stars who were past runner-ups for AFH included Enzo Palumbo on BB12, Ian Terry on BB14, and Nicole Franzel on BB16.

A major fan campaign began online earlier this week for Da’Vonne to win America’s Favorite Houseguest, and it looks like the efforts were successful. One million votes have helped to change an upsetting trend in the show’s history.