LA Marathon Winners Announced

Los Angeles Marathon

This year’s L.A. Marathon has drawn around 24,000 runners from all across the globe.

Thousands of participates reportedly gathered in the parking lot of Dodger Stadium to prepare for this year’s race. Officials expected upwards of 24,000 people to take part in the marathon.

The L.A. Marathon runs through Los Angeles, West Hollywood, and Beverly Hills before wrapping things up in Santa Monica. Runners will have traversed nearly 27 miles when they finally cross the finish line.

The marathon kicked off at 7:30 am on Sunday morning.

Aleksandra Duliba reportedly finished first out of the female competitors. Reports indicate that the marathon rookie led the pack for 21 miles of the journey. Duliba’s official time is 2:26:03. She was followed by runners Ethiopian Zemzem Ahmed and Deena Kastor.

Erick Mose from Kenya placed first in the men’s division of the race. He reportedly achieved a personal best with an unofficial time of 2:09:43. Julius Keter and Nicholas Chelimo finished second and third, respectively.

The announcements were made on the marathon’s official Twitter page.

L.A. Marathon director Nick Curl said people from all 50 states and 61 countries participated in this year’s event. This is also the second time in race history that it has sold out. Curl said that he could have easily added thousands more had the marathon not reached capacity.

“Last August, when we started running full-page ads in running publications locally and nationally, we told our participants the race is capped. We’ve been consistent in that messaging,” Curl said.

“I’m not going to go back and take more registrants than I have finish medals. It’s the wrong thing to do,” he added.

A time-lapse video of the runners has been embedded below.

Male and female participants who win the race will each receive $25,000. Those who finish in second place will reportedly walk away with $12,500. The person who posts works hardest overall will get an additional $50,000.

Aleksandra Duliba reportedly walked away with $75,000 in prize money.

Did you take part in this year’s L.A. Marathon?

[Image by]