Watch India Vs. South Africa Cricket Stream Live: 3rd T20, Start Time, Preview, Proteas Look For Fightback

South Africa faces an uphill battle in the 3rd T20 after losing the second, and only completed, match of their series in India.

Farhaan Behardien bats.
Lee Warren / Getty Images

South Africa faces an uphill battle in the 3rd T20 after losing the second, and only completed, match of their series in India.

Before heading into their current, three-match T20 International cricket series, India and South Africa last squared off in the eighth match of the 2019 Cricket World Cup, as The Inquisitr reported. India took the edge in that 50-overs match, taking a six-wicket win with 15 balls remaining — and so far, the results seem to be headed in the same direction in the shortened T20 series. The Men in Blue won the second match by seven wickets with six balls to spare. Since the first game was called off, the third T20 will decide the series. This must-watch game will stream live from Bangalore.

Regular South Africa Captain Faf du Plessis had not been scheduled to play in either of the first two matches and won’t be able make the third game either, thanks to a snafu with British Airways, according to NDTV. Not only did the airline strand the 35-year-old in Dubai when he missed his connecting flight to India — the Proteas skipper also reported that the airline lost the bag containing his cricket equipment.

That leaves wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock to continue captaining the T20 side. The team seems to be feeling du Plessis’ loss. They also still seem to be missing retired A.B. de Villiers, whose absence was sorely felt at the World Cup, when South Africa barely made a dent after reaching the semifinals of the 2015 competition.

Here are the expected teams for the third India vs. South Africa T20I.

India: 1. Rohit Sharma, 2. Shikhar Dhawan, 3. Virat Kohli (captain), 4. Shreyas Iyer, 5. Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), 6. Hardik Pandya, 7. Krunal Pandya/Rahul Chahar, 8. Ravindra Jadeja, 9. Washington Sundar, 10. Deepak Chahar, 11. Navdeep Saini.

South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (captain/wicketkeeper), 2. Reeza Hendricks, 3. Rassie van der Dussen, 4. Temba Bavuma, 5. David Miller, 6. Andile Phehlukwayo, 7. Dwaine Pretorius, 8. Bjorn Fortuin, 9. Kagiso Rabada, 10. Junior Dala, 11. Tabraiz Shamsi.

Watch a preview of the India vs. South Africa T20I series finale in the video below, courtesy of Cricbuzz.

First ball is scheduled to be bowled at 7 p.m. India Standard Time on Sunday, September 22, at the 40,000-seat M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, Karnataka, India. In South Africa, that start time will be 3:30 p.m. on Sunday afternoon, South Africa Standard Time.


The match will get started at 7:30 p.m. Bangladesh Standard Time. In the United States, cricket fans can catch the third match at 9:30 a.m. EDT on Sunday, 6:30 a.m. PDT.

HotStar India has the streaming rights to the India vs. South Africa series in the host nation. In South Africa, Super Sport will stream the match live.

To watch a free livestream of the match otherwise, ESPN+, the subscription sports network operated by ESPN, will be showing the event. The ESPN+ streaming network is available for a subscription fee of $4.99 per month. It comes with a seven-day free trial, however, so fans will be able to watch the Men in Blue vs. Proteas matchup at no charge. ESPN+ is available through the ESPN app for mobile devices, as well as on set-top streaming boxes, such as Apple TV, Roku devices, and Amazon Fire.