Rock Band now boasts 1,000 songs

Back in the summer, Harmonix and MTV promised to deliver 1,000 downloadable songs for its music game Rock Band by 2010.

Oh, how we all scoffed in Inquisitr Towers! Duncan sniggered into his whiskey glass, Kim politely chuckled behind her hand, and James subtly rolled his eyes skywards.

But by jove, they’ve done it. And they actually managed it by yesterday. As of November 24, there were more than 1,000 songs from from almost 400 different artists available for purchase and play between the Rock Band Music Store and the on-disc tracks included with Rock Band and Rock Band 2. Alas, not one of them is “Bohemian Rhapsody,” but look: 1,000 TRACKS, OKAY?

What was the 1,000th song exactly? Um, one of these:

– “A Thing About You” – Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
– “American Girl” -Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
– “Even the Losers” – Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
– “Here Comes My Girl” – Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
– “Mary Jane’s Last Dance” – Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
– “Refugee” – Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
– “Miss Independent” – Kelly Clarkson
– “Who Knew” – Pink
– “Our Lips Are Sealed” – The Go-Go’s

For the sake of the franchise’s good name, let’s say Rock Band‘s 1,000th song wasn’t by Kelly Clarkson.

[Via press release]