It’s Official: Electoral College Vote Count Confirms President Obama’s Re-Election

President Obama has officially been re-elected.

The Electoral College vote has been counted and, unsurprisingly, Obama will be the President of the United States for the next four years.

According to Fox News, Obama captured 322 electoral votes compared to 2006 collected by Romney. The President needed 270 votes to win re-election.

The Huffington Post reports that the final count from all 50 states and the District of Columbia has also been finalized. Obama took 65,899,660 votes compared to Romney’s 60,932,152 votes. Obama won the 2012 election with 51.1% of the vote which makes him the first person since Dwight Eisenhower to win two consecutive elections with more than 51% of the vote.

President Obama will be sworn in for his second term at the end of the month. On January 20, 2013, Chief Justice John Roberts will swear in the president during a private ceremony at the White House. Joe Biden will be sworn in as Vice President by Justice Sonia Sotomayor.

Today’s announcement comes nearly two months after President Obama was declared the winner of the 2012 election.

At the time, Obama said:

“I believe we can seize this future together because we are not as divided as our politics suggests. We’re not as cynical as the pundits believe. We are greater than the sum of our individual ambitions, and we remain more than a collection of red states and blue states. We are and forever will be the United States of America.”