Pro Bowl Rosters Announced, Heavy On Texans And 49ers

The Pro Bowl rosters were announced by the NFL on Wednesday, with players from the San Francisco 49ers and the Houston Texans dominating each squad.

The 49ers will contribute nine players to the all-star game, while eight Texans could also play a role.

Of the Texans called up to the AFC roster, six will be on offense, with running back Arian Foster, wide receiver Andre Johnson, and offensive tackle Duane Brown all guaranteed to start (providing, of course, Houston don’t make the Super Bowl).

Conversely, six of the 49ers named to the NFC lineup will be in defense, including linebackers Aldon Smith, NaVorro Bowman, and Patrick Willis. Strong safety Donte Whitner, free safety Dashon Goldson, and lineman Justin Smith are also selected.

Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers will start for the NFC for the second year in a row, while Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning will lead the AFC, having been named to his 12th Pro Bowl team.

Minnesota Vikings running back Adrian Peterson, who is close to breaking the single season rushing record, has been selected as starter for the NFC.

The Pro Bowl will be played in Honolulu on January 27, a week before the Super Bowl. Check out the full rosters below:



Quarterback: Peyton Manning (Denver)
Reserves: Tom Brady (New England); Matt Schaub (Houston)

Running back: Arian Foster (Houston)
Reserves: Jamaal Charles (Kansas City); Ray Rice (Baltimore)

Fullback: Vonta Leach (Baltimore)

Wide receiver: A. J. Green (Cincinnati); Andre Johnson (Houston)
Reserves: Reggie Wayne (Indianapolis); Wes Welker (New England)

Tight end: Rob Gronkowski (New England)
Reserve: Heath Miller (Pittsburgh)

Offensive tackle: Joe Thomas (Cleveland); Duane Brown (Houston)
Reserve: Ryan Clady (Denver)

Offensive guard: Logan Mankins (New England); Marshal Yanda (Baltimore)
Reserve: Wade Smith (Houston)

Center: Maurkice Pouncey (Pittsburgh)
Reserve: Chris Myers (Houston)


Defensive end: J. J. Watt (Houston); Cameron Wake (Miami)
Reserve: Elvis Dumervil(Denver)

Defensive tackle: Geno Atkins (Cincinnati); Vince Wilfork (New England)
Reserve: Haloti Ngata (Baltimore)

Outside linebacker: Von Miller (Denver); Tamba Hali (Kansas City)
Reserve: Robert Mathis (Indianapolis)

Inside linebacker: Jerod Mayo (New England)
Reserve: Derrick Johnson (Kansas City)

Cornerback: Champ Bailey (Denver); Johnathan Joseph (Houston)
Reserve: Antonio Cromartie (N.Y. Jets)

Free safety: Ed Reed (Baltimore)

Strong safety: Eric Berry (Kansas City)
Reserve: LaRon Landry (N.Y. Jets)

Special teams

Punter: Dustin Colquitt (Kansas City)

Placekicker: Phil Dawson (Cleveland)

Kick returner: Jacoby Jones (Baltimore)

Special teamer: Matthew Slater (New England)

Long snapper: TBA



Quarterback: Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay)
Reserves: Matt Ryan (Atlanta); Robert Griffin III (Washington)

Running back: Adrian Peterson (Minnesota)
Reserves: Marshawn Lynch (Seattle); Frank Gore (San Francisco)

Fullback: Jerome Felton (Minnesota)

Wide receiver: Calvin Johnson (Detroit); Brandon Marshall (Chicago)
Reserves: Julio Jones (Atlanta); Victor Cruz (N.Y. Giants)

Tight end: Tony Gonzalez (Atlanta)
Reserve: Jason Witten (Dallas)

Offensive tackle: Joe Staley (San Francisco); Russell Okung (Seattle)
Reserve: Trent Williams (Washington)

Offensive guard: Mike Iupati (San Francisco); Jahri Evans (New Orleans)
Reserve: Chris Snee (N.Y. Giants)

Center: Max Unger (Seattle)
Reserve: Jeff Saturday (Green Bay)


Defensive end: Jason Pierre-Paul (N.Y. Giants); Julius Peppers (Chicago)
Reserve: Jared Allen (Minnesota)

Defensive tackle: Justin Smith (San Francisco); Henry Melton (Chicago)
Reserve: Gerald McCoy (Tampa Bay)

Outside linebacker: Aldon Smith (San Francisco); DeMarcus Ware (Dallas)
Reserve: Clay Matthews (Green Bay)

Inside linebacker: Patrick Willis (San Francisco)
Reserve: NaVorro Bowman (San Francisco)

Cornerback: Charles Tillman (Chicago); Tim Jennings (Chicago)
Reserve: Patrick Peterson (Arizona)

Free safety: Dashon Goldson, (San Francisco)
Reserve: Earl Thomas (Seattle)

Strong safety: Donte Whitner (San Francisco)

Special teams

Punter: Thomas Morstead (New Orleans)

Placekicker: Blair Walsh (Minnesota)

Kick returner: Leon Washington (Seattle)

Special teamer: Lorenzo Alexander (Washington)

Long snapper: TBA