Library Of Congress Adds 25 Films To National Registry: See What Made The Cut

The Library of Congress has selected 25 new movies to be added to the National Film Registry in 2012.

This year’s batch of film span a period of time from 1897 to 1999, and brings the number of films in the registry to 600.

Congress established the National Film Registry in 1989 to preserve US film heritage. The National Film Preservation Act holds that the librarian of Congress will name 25 film each year that are deemed “culturally, historically or aesthetically significant,” and films that make the cut must be at least 10 years old.

“These films are not selected as the best American films of all time, but rather as works of enduring importance to American culture,” Librarian of Congress James M. Billington said in a statement released Wednesday morning. “They reflect who we are as a people and as a nation.”

Here’s the list of films added to the Library of Congress’s National Film Registry for 2012, according to the LA Times:

3:10 to Yuma (1957)

Anatomy of a Murder (1959)

– The Augustas (1930s-1950s)

Born Yesterday (1950)

Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961)

A Christmas Story (1983)

The Corbett-Fitzsimmons Title Fight (1897)

Dirty Harry (1971)

Hours for Jerome: Parts 1 and 2 (1980-82)

The Kidnappers Foil (1930s-1950s)

Kodachrome Color Motion Picture Tests (1922)

A League of Their Own (1992)

The Matrix (1999)

The Middleton Family at the New York World’s Fair (1939)

One Survivor Remembers (1995)

Parable (1964)

Samsara: Death and Rebirth of Cambodia (1990)
Slacker (1991)

Sons of the Desert (1933)

The Spook Who Sat by the Door (1973)

They Call It Pro Football (1967)

The Times of Harvey Milk (1984)

Two-Lane Blacktop (1971)

Uncle Tom’s Cabin (1914)

The Wishing Ring; An Idyll of Old England (1914)

What do you think of the 25 films selected in 2012 for the Library of Congress’s National Film Registry? What else should have made the cut? What shouldn’t have been included? Sound off!