Election Results: Live Updates From Washington State Voting

Ryan DeVault

Election results from Washington state voting come in on Tuesday evening (Nov. 8). Live updates on the state election results can be found here, including who Washington wants to elect as the new President of the United States. There are also several very important state measures that will be decided upon by the voting residents of Washington state.

As previously reported by the Inquisitr, there are seven candidates on the Washington state ballot running for President of the United States. They are Hillary Clinton, Donald Trump, Alyson Kennedy, Gloria Estela La Riva, Jill Stein, Darrel L. Castle, and Gary Johnson. A number of incumbents are running for re-election, including Governor Jay Inslee, Senator Patty Murray, and Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers.

These live updates of Washington state election results will come in as soon as the counties start reporting numbers on Tuesday night. Election officials have already begun the process of counting the ballots, as Washington state has a mail-in system to shorten the process. Ballot drop boxes and voter service centers are open until 8 p.m. PT on Election Day, giving residents additional time to submit their votes.

One of the measures that a lot of state residents are paying close attention to is I-1433. Described as a policy concerning labor standards, it would work to increase the state minimum wage over the next six years. That would include an increase to $11.00 for 2017 and continue to steadily increase until it hits $14.23 in 2022. I-1433 would also require employers to provide all employees with paid sick leave to care for their health and their families.

Additional initiatives on the Washington state ballot include the creation of a campaign-finance system (I-1464), extreme risk protection orders temporarily preventing access to firearms (I-1491), increased penalties for criminal identity theft and civil consumer fraud targeting seniors or vulnerable individuals (I-1501), the imposing of a carbon emission tax on certain fossil fuels (I-732), and a proposed amendment to the federal constitution that addresses constitutional rights and how they apply to individuals or corporations (I-735).

Local, legislative, and judicial voting results can also be located on a site provided by the Washington Secretary of State. Those numbers will also be updated periodically as ballot groups are submitted from the respective counties. The entire vote counting process is going to take a while for the state, with an expected increase in the number of registered voters turning out for the General Election. As those General Election voting results for Washington state become available, live updates will be provided to this article by the Inquisitr.

2016 General Election Results For Washington State (Live Update: 9:30 p.m. PT)

*Polls Close At 8 p.m. PT In Washington*

(1,932,873 Votes Counted)

President / Vice President:

Hillary Clinton / Tim Kaine (Democratic Party) - 56.3% (1,088,152) Donald J. Trump / Michael R. Pence (Republican Party) - 37.83% (731,127) Alyson Kennedy / Osborne Hart (Socialist Workers Party) - 0.12% (2,283) Gloria La Riva / Eugene Puryear (Socialism & Liberation Party) - 0.08% (1,598) Jill Stein / Ajamu Baraka (Green Party) - 1.31% (25,346) Darrell L. Castle / Scott N. Bradley (Constitution Party) - 0.43% (8,324) Gary Johnson / Bill Weld (Libertarian Party) - 3.93% (76,043)

U.S. Senator:

Patty Murray (Democratic Party) - 60.81% (1,183,089) Chris Vance (Republican Party) - 39.19% (762,461)

U.S. Congressional Representative:

District 1:

Suzan DelBene (Democratic Party) - 44.23% Robert J. Sutherland (Republican Party) - 55.77%

District 2:

Rick Larsen (Democratic Party) - 75.91% Marc Hennemann (Republican Party) - 24.09%

District 3:

Jaime Herrera Beutler (Republican Party) - 58.83% Jim Moeller (Democratic Party) - 41.17%

District 4:

Dan Newhouse (Republican Party) - 57.69% Clint Didier (Republican Party) - 42.31%

District 5:

Cathy McMorris Rodgers (Republican Party) - 58.32% Joe Pakootas (Democratic Party) - 41.68%

District 6:

Derek Kilmer (Democratic Party) - 62.22% Todd A. Bloom (Republican Party) - 37.78%

District 7:

Pramila Jayapal (Democratic Party) - 57.84% Brady Pinero Walkinshaw (Democratic Party) - 42.16%

District 8:

Dave Reichert (Republican Party) - 64.92% Tony Ventrella (Democratic Party) - 35.08%

District 9:

Adam Smith (Democratic Party) - 61.88% Doug Basler (Republican Party) - 38.12%

District 10:

Denny Heck (Democratic Party) - 59.91% Jim Postma (Republican Party) - 40.09%


Jay Inslee(Democratic Party) - 56.32% (1,094,123) Bill Bryant (Republican Party) - 43.68% (848,681)

State Measures:

Initiative Measure No. 1433 (I-1433) - Yes: 59.51% No: 40.49%

Initiative Measure No. 1464 (I-1464) - Yes: 47.58% No: 52.42%

Initiative Measure No. 1491 (I-1491) - Yes: 71.17% No: 28.83%

Initiative Measure No. 1501 (I-1501) - Yes: 71.21% No: 28.79%

Initiative Measure No. 732 (I-732) - Yes: 41.49% No: 58.51%

Initiative Measure No. 735 (I-735) - Yes: 63.88% No: 36.12%

[Featured Image by David Ryder/Getty Images]