‘A Very Kacey Christmas:’ Details On Kacey Musgraves’ Christmas Album And Tour

Kacey Musgraves is getting ready to tour in support of her first-ever Christmas album, A Very Kacey Christmas.

It may only be fall, but Kacey Musgraves is ready to celebrate Christmas. Earlier this week, she launched her preview party for A Very Kacey Christmas album. The LP, out on Oct. 28 along with a vinyl release for Nov. 18, was inspired by Christmas music from the ’40s, ’50s, and ’60s, reports Rolling Stone. Musgraves told attendees that she wanted to put her “own spin” on her Christmas album. Fans can also expect the same thing with the accompanying tour, which starts Nov. 26 in Windsor, Ontario.

“I’m so excited to tour my first Christmas album and to get festive with this music! It was such a blast to make,” Musgraves said. “I’m making sure these are going to be some very magical nights.”

A Very Kacey Christmas includes a mix of traditional and modern Christmas songs. Fans will enjoy classics such as “Have Yourself A Very Merry Little Christmas” and “Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer,” along with original Musgraves’ songs such as “Christmas Makes Me Cry” and “A Willie Nice Christmas” (featuring Willie Nelson and Trigger.)

In early September, Musgraves confirmed that the country legend will be on her upcoming album. The two previously collaborated and worked on her song “Are You Sure,” a special hidden track from her latest LP, Pageant Material. According to a separate Rolling Stone report, Musgraves and Nelson worked together on the track with collaborators Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne.

The song includes the cheeky line, “May we all stay higher than the angel on top of the tree.” The Hawaiian-influenced track kind of sounds like “Mele Kalikimaka.” Musgraves took to social media back in June to tease fans about her upcoming Christmas album. While it was already 90 degrees outside, it was looking very much like Christmas in the recording studio. Musgraves’ album is said to be sprinkled with elements of pop, Hawaiian tunes, and some classic R&B soul.

“Working on my first Christmas album has been one of the most enriching musical experiences I’ve ever had and I can’t wait for everyone to hear it,” Musgraves said in a recent statement. “I really wanted to create a whimsical throwback holiday record, one that evokes feelings of nostalgia and simpler times. I think that the fine musicians and brains that were a part of this project helped me create a body of music that can be added to people’s classic collections.”

Here is the complete track list for A Very Kacey Christmas:

  1. “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”
  2. “Let It Snow” (featuring the Quebe Sisters)
  3. “Christmas Don’t Be Late”
  4. “A Willie Nice Christmas” (featuring Willie Nelson and Trigger)
  5. “Feliz Navidad”
  6. “Christmas Makes Me Cry”
  7. “Present Without A Bow” (featuring Leon Bridges)
  8. “Mele Kalikimaka” (featuring the Quebe Sisters)
  9. “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas”
  10. “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer”
  11. “Ribbons and Bows”
  12. “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?”

Tickets for six of the eight shows for A Very Kacey Christmas Tour already went on sale Friday, Sept. 30, with the Dec. 9 and Dec. 10 shows going on sale on Wednesday, Oct. 7.

Here are the following tour dates for A Very Kacey Christmas tour:

November 26 – Windsor, ON @ The Colosseum at Caesars Windsor

November 28 – Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium

December 8 – New York, NY @ The Town Hall

December 9 – Wilkes-Barre, PA @ FM Kirby Center for the Performing Arts

December 10 – Washington, DC @ National Theater

December 15 – Joliet, IL @ Rialto Square Theater

December 16 – Knoxville, TN @ Tennessee Theater

December 17 – Evansville, IN @ Victory Theater

Check out KaceyMusgraves.com for information on her Christmas album and supporting tour, along with merchandise and more.

[Featured Image by Rick Diamond/Getty Images]